Skip to main content

Georgia State Government Documents - List of Classes and Agency Index: Home

Georgia Documents: About the collection

Documents published by the State of Georgia from 1876 to date are located in the Georgia Documents collection in the Map and Government Information Library. The Georgia Documents collection encompasses audit reports, budget documents, legislative documents, monographs, newsletters, periodicals and serials from agencies including agriculture, arts, community affairs, courts, education, human resources, industry and trade, labor, legislature, natural resources and recreation. Please see the Complete List of State Agencies and Organizations for further information.

Materials published by individual units of the University System of Georgia are not considered state documents in this collection. However, the Board of Regents is a state agency, and as such its publications are part of the Georgia Documents Collection.

Georgia government documents are classified in a special system that is similar to the U.S. Superintendent of Documents (Sudoc) Classification System. For a complete listing, please see the List of Classes or the Agency Index.

Georgia Government Publications Database

Developed in 1996 as GALILEO's first digital conversion initiative, the Georgia Government Publications database contains born-digital publications and scanned print documents produced by Georgia state agencies. The GGP provides a comprehensive repository of state publications 1994 to the present, and project participants are actively scanning documents printed before 1994 to provide researchers with a valuable source for online historical research.

Among the pre-1994 publications that have been added to the collection are the Picture Book, containing biographical information about Georgia's State Senators and State Representatives, and the Department of Education Annual Report, which has detailed textual and photographic information surveying the education system in Georgia back to 1871. The Georgia Official and Statistical Register, 1923-1990 also is a project of the GGP and is available through a separate interface.

In 2003, the American Association of Law Libraries acknowledged the GGP with its "Public Access to Government Information" Award.

Your Librarian

Map & Government Information Library's picture
Map & Government Information Library
Contact:
Located in the subbasement of the Main Library on North Campus
706-542-0690
Website