Skip to main content

Tests and Measurements for the Social Sciences: Indexes to Commercial Tests

How to find tests and measures (scales, inventories, questionnaires, etc.) in the social sciences.

Commercial Test Indexes

Mental Measurements Yearbook
GALILEO database (GALILEO  password required)

Entries contain description information and edited reviews. The database covers tests published 1989-present.  Use print edition for previous years. Main Library reference: Z5814 .P8973

Testlink

Descriptions and contact info for over 25,000 published and unpublished tests in the ETS Test Collection.  Some of these tests are available in the ETS Test Collection on microfiche in the Main Library basement. A small number can be purchased and downloaded directly from the website. Tips for searching the ETS database.


Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business
Main library 6th floor: BF176 .T43 2008

Provides detailed descriptions, price and contact info.  Contains both published and unpublished tests.


Tests in Print: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests
Main Library Reference LB3051.T460

Indexes all known commercially available tests in English that are currently in print.  Entries describe the test and provide price and contact info.  It also serves as a master index to reviews in the first 13 Mental Measurements Yearbooks (1941-1998).


Google Books

You can keyword search Google Books or search for a known test title.  Although you will probably not find the full text of the book or test, you can often see a "snippet" or "preview" of the book that will mention the test, and you can then search for the book in GIL, the UGA library catalog.


Directory of Test Collections in Academic, Professional and Research Libraries

Main Library Reference LB 3051 .D564 2001 (Additional copy Main library 2nd floor, same call number)

A list of institutions with more than 100 test instruments that allow viewing of their test collection for evaluation purposes (not for actual use)

Your Librarian

Carla Buss's picture
Carla Buss
Contact:
cbuss@uga.edu

706.542.2996

Curriculum Materials Library

207 Aderhold Hall
Website