Skip to main content

Tests and Measurements for the Social Sciences: Full Text Tests in Books

How to find tests and measures (scales, inventories, questionnaires, etc.) in the social sciences.

Searching GILfind for Books About Tests

A few subject terms you can combine with other keywords to search in GILfind, the UGA Library Catalog (Note: most of the books you find will be about testing, but not contain actual tests.)

  • Psychological Tests
  • Educational Tests and Measurements
  • Psychometrics
  • Personality Tests
  • Personality Assessment
  • Intelligence Tests
  • Aptitude Tests
  • Ability testing
  • Assessment
  • Testing
  • Scaling (Social Sciences)
  • [Specific Test Name]

LC call numbers related to tests and measurements:

  • BF39 - BF 39.2  (Psychometrics)
  • BF176 - BF 176.5  (Psychological Tests)
  • LB2366 (Assessment in Higher Education)
  • LB3051 - LB3060  (Educational Tests and Measurements)
  • RA408.5  (Health Surveys)

Books with Full-Text Tests in the UGA Libraries

Selected books in the UGA Libraries that contain full-text tests, organized by broad topic area: (You can also get to these books using the menu under the 'Full Text Tests in Books' tab, above.)

Crime & Delinquency | General & Multisubject | Gerontology | Health & Medical | Marketing & Communication | Marriage & FamilyPsychosocial | Work/Occupational

Databases That Index Full-Text Tests in Books

Use these databases to find a book that contains the test you are interested in,  then search for the book in GILfind, the UGA library catalog.  You can search these databases by test name, or by topic (ex: anxiety, body image, etc.)

 Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes. (Helen Hough, University of Texas).

This database indexes over 12,000 test instruments found in books. Use the 'Search Refshare' text box at the top of the screen to search by test title (if you have one) or keywords. Click on the 'view' link on the right for more details. For most items you'll see a link to 'Find in a library near you' to see if UGA owns the book (you may need to enter the library zipcode first: 30602).  Click on the 'University of Georgia" link to get the call number.  You can see a list of the books that contain the tests you find in this database here.

 
USF Test and Measures Collection, (University of South Florida)

This site will guide you to questionnaires, surveys,  tests, etc. that are contained in books owned by the USF Libraries, but the 'worldcat' link at the top of each record will show you whether UGA  owns it and the call number. To search this site, use the navigation menu on the left of the screen - click browse  to see tests by category, or search  to search by keyword.  This is a small database, but more material will be added.

UGA Test Collection on Microfiche

ETS's Tests in Microfiche (TIM) - You can search through this collection in ETS's online index, ETS Test Link. Clink on the 'Find a Test' tab get to the search screen.  If you cannot visit the CML to use the microfice collection, the online index also allows you to limit your search to tests you can download onto your computer.  The microfiche is stored in the basement of the Main library next to the ERIC microfiche.

The Curriculum Materials Library in Aderhold holds  UGA's  Educational Psychology Department collection of standardized test kits. NOTE: These tests can only be used by graduate students and others who have been given approval by the Department of Educational Psychology.

Your Librarian

Sheila Devaney's picture
Sheila Devaney
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library
University of Georgia
sdevaney@uga.edu
912-268-0539 (For Fall 2020 please use my Google Voice number))