Skip to main content

Tests and Measurements for the Social Sciences: Test Critiques/Reviews

How to find tests and measures (scales, inventories, questionnaires, etc.) in the social sciences.

Test Reviews/Critiques

The box below provide sources for test critiques for tests in all fields.  To see test critiques specific to Education, Health/Exericse, Family, or Psycho-Social issues, mouse over the 'Test Critiques/Reviews' tab above.

Test Reviews/Critiques - All Disciplines

Mental Measurements Yearbook
GALILEO database. GALILEO Password required.
Main library reference:  Z5814.P8973

Descriptive information and reviews of commercial tests published or revised since 1985.  Use the print edition for older tests.

Test Critiques  (1984-1994)
Main library reference: BF176 .T418 

A comprehensive source providing descriptions, reviews and references for most frequently used and recommended commercial psychologial, educational and business tests.  The final volume has a cumulative subject and title index that covers all volumes.

Tests in Print
Main Library reference: LB3051.T460

Indexes commercially available tests in English that are currently in print.  Entries describe the test and provide price and contact info and may include reviews.

HaPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) 
GALILEO database. GALILEO Password required.

Coverage, 1985 -. Reviews unpublished measurement tools such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. HaPI allows you to discover instruments, track their history and provides contact info for ordering.

Compendium of Assessment and Research Tools (CART)  for Measuring Education and Youth Development Outcomes (RMC Research Corporation)

Reviews instruments that measure attributes associated with youth development programs. Some of the instruments are available in full-text.  The data provided usually covers, a brief description of the instrument itself and it's subject population, as well as other parameters to guide its use.  When available, data about instrument reliability and validity is included, as well as information about whether the instrument has been normed.


A Consumer's Guide to Tests in Print
Repository:  LB3060.32 .N67 H36 1992    Request from Repository

Test scores are rated as highly recommended,recommended, or not recommended based on accepted psychometric principles concerning test norms,reliability and validity.


Index to Tests Used in Educational Dissertations
Repository: LB3051 .F3 1989    Request from Repository

Covers dissertations written 1938-1980.  The test title index provides both a subject and a reference for locating materials in Dissertation Abstracts.

Test Reviews in Journal Articles

To find reviews/discussions of a specific test in journal articles, follow the directions in the  'Finding Full-Text Tests in Journals: GALILEO tab in this guide.

Your Librarian

Sheila Devaney's picture
Sheila Devaney
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library
University of Georgia
sdevaney@uga.edu
912-268-0539 (For Fall 2020 please use my Google Voice number))