Skip to main content

Tests and Measurements for the Social Sciences: Full-Text Tests in Journals

How to find tests and measures (scales, inventories, questionnaires, etc.) in the social sciences.

Finding Full-Text Tests in Journals: GALILEO

Note: These directions will show you how to find articles containing full text tests, and articles that use or discuss a particular test, but don't include the test itself.

ERIC:  Using the Adanced Search' option, in addition to your keywords, type the word 'appended' to find full text tests.  To find articles that use tests, even if the test is not in full text, type in your keywords and choose Tests/Questionnaires in the Publication Type limit box.

HAPI: Using the 'Advanced Search' option, in addition to your keywords, select 'Primary Source'  in the 'Source Code' box to limit your results to citations that contain measure itself or discuss its development.  

PsycINFO: Using the Advanced Search option, in addition to your keywords, type the word appended and choose 'TM-Tests & Measures' from the pulldown menu to find full text tests. To find articles that use or refer to tests relevant to your topic, even if the test is not in full text, type in your keywords and choose 'TM-Tests & Measures' from the pulldown menu.  This will search for your terms in the title of a test.  Use as few keywords as possible for this search.

CINAHL: Using the Advanced Search option, in addition to your keywords, select  'Research Instrument' from the Publication Type drop-down menu. To find articles that use a specific research instrument,  enter the name of the test in the search box and choose Instrumentation  in the drop-down menu.

Other GALILEO databases - Search tips:

Most databases do not have special features that allow you to limit by test.  For these databases, combine your keyword search with one or more keywords that are associated with test instruments, as shown in the example below.  (Putting the term 'OR' between each keyword will search for items that contain any of these keywords.)

Example Search:

anxiety AND children AND (assessment OR interview OR inventory OR measur* OR questionnaire OR rating OR scale OR survey OR test* OR tool*)

UGA Test Collection on Microfiche

ETS's Tests in Microfiche (TIM) - You can search through this collection in ETS's online index, ETS Test Link. Clink on the 'Find a Test' tab get to the search screen.  If you cannot visit the CML to use the microfice collection, the online index also allows you to limit your search to tests you can download onto your computer.  The microfiche is stored in the basement of the Main library next to the ERIC microfiche.

The Curriculum Materials Library in Aderhold holds  UGA's  Educational Psychology Department collection of standardized test kits. NOTE: These tests can only be used by graduate students and others who have been given approval by the Department of Educational Psychology.

Your Librarian

Sheila Devaney's picture
Sheila Devaney
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library
University of Georgia
sdevaney@uga.edu
706-542-8708