Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Archaeological Record - tDAR
The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations.
Open Context reviews, edits, and publishes archaeological research data and archives data with university-backed repositories, including the California Digital Library.
Astronomy and Astrophysics
HEASARC - The High Energy AStrophysics Science Archive Research Center
The High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC) is the primary archive for NASA's (and other space agencies') missions dealing with electromagnetic radiation from extremely energetic phenomena ranging from black holes to the Big Bang.
Infrared Science Archive
IRSA is chartered to curate the calibrated science products from NASA's infrared and sub-millimeter missions. We offer access to digital archives through powerful query engines, including VO-compliant interfaces, and offers unique tools such as the IRAS scan processing tool Scanpi.
National Space Science Data Center
NASA's permanent archive for space science mission data.
NED -- The NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database
NED is a comprehensive database of multiwavelength data for extragalactic objects, providing a systematic, ongoing fusion of information integrated from hundreds of large sky surveys and tens of thousands of research publications. The contents and services span the entire observed spectrum from gamma rays through radio frequencies.
A resource for utilizing nuclear information in studies of astrophysical systems.
Plasma Laboratory - Weizmann Institute of Science
SIMBAD astronomical database
The SIMBAD astronomical database provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.
SkyServer provides access to the entire public database of the Sloan Digital Sky Survey - over 80 million stars, galaxies, and quasars. The site includes a variety of Tools to view and download SDSS data, and Projects that let you use these data to learn science.
Sloan Digital Sky Survey
The Sloan Digital Sky Survey has obtained deep, multi-color images covering more than a quarter of the sky and created 3-dimensional maps containing more than 930,000 galaxies and more than 120,000 quasars.
Smithsonian/NASA astrophysics data system
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.2 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.
UK solar system data centre
The UK Solar System Data Centre (UKSSDC) provides a STFC and NERC jointly funded central archive and data centre facility for Solar System science in the UK.
US Virtual Astronomical Observatory
The Virtual Astronomical Observatory (VAO) is part of a worldwide effort called the Virtual Observatory (VO) that aims to link astronomy data and services.
National Center for Atmospheric Research
The CISL Research Data Archive (RDA) contains a large and diverse collection of meteorological and oceanographic observations, operational and reanalysis model outputs, and remote sensing datasets to support atmospheric and geosciences research, along with ancillary datasets, such as topography/bathymetry, vegetation, and land use.
National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)
NOAA's National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) is responsible for preserving, monitoring, assessing, and providing public access to the Nation's treasure of climate and historical weather data and information.
Biology and Life Sciences
The Cell: An Image Library
We are accumulating images of all cell types from all organisms, including intracellular structures and movies or animations demonstrating functions.
The Digital Morphology library is a dynamic archive of information on digital morphology and high-resolution X-ray computed tomography of biological specimens.
The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.
ITIS - Integrated Taxinomic Information System
Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.
PLEXdb - Plant Expression Database
PLEXdb (Plant Expression Database) is a unified gene expression resource for plants and plant pathogens. PLEXdb is a genotype to phenotype, hypothesis building information warehouse, leveraging highly parallel expression data with seamless portals to related genetic, physical, and pathway data.
Biological Macromolecular Resource.
Species 2000 is a federation of database organisations working closely with users, taxonomists and sponsoring agencies.
The mission of UniProt is to provide the scientific community with a comprehensive, high-quality and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information.
Cambridge Structural Database
Established in 1965, the CSD is the world’s repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures. Containing the results of over half-a-million x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses this unique database of accurate 3D structures has become an essential resource to scientists around the world.
eCrystals - Southampton is the archive for Crystal Structures generated by the Southampton Chemical Crystallography Group and the EPSRC UK National Crystallography Service.
PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.
Computer Science and Source Code
CodePlex is Microsoft's free open source project hosting site. You can create projects to share with the world, collaborate with others on their projects, and download open source software.
Cooperative Association for Internet Data Analysis (CAIDA)
Collection and sharing of data for scientific analysis of Internet traffic, topology, routing, performance, and security-related events is one of CAIDA's core objectives.
Google Code Project hosting
Project Hosting on Google Code provides a free collaborative development environment for open source projects.
A software collaboration platform.
Find, Create, and Publish Open Source software for free.
GeoCommons enables everyone to find, use and share geographic data and maps. Easily create rich interactive visualizations to solve problems without any experience using traditional mapping tools.
Federal Geographic Data Committee
The FGDC coordinates the sharing of geographic data, maps, and online services through an online portal, GeoPlatform.gov, that searches metadata held within the NSDI Clearinghouse Network.
National Geospatial Program
The National Geospatial Program provides leadership for USGS geospatial coordination, production and service activities. The Program engages partners to develop standards and produce consistent and accurate data through its Geospatial Liaison Network.
Health and Medical Sciences
See these guides for more data sources