Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

Honors Scholars: UGA's resources

Libraries Homepage

The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 130 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.  

This means you can search broadly for your topic amongst databases which contain newspapers, magazines, and scholarly articles and books.  

Things to remember:

1) The Multi Search doesn't search everything the Libraries has access to electronically.  We have over 500 databases and this resource searches only a quarter of them.  There are several excellent databases that aren't in the Multi Search!  

2) Beware of the fire hydrant effect!  If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this.  Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need.  If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database, organized by subject to the right.  There are over 500 different databases accessible through the Libraries Homepage.

Basic Research Tools

UGA Libraries home page. The starting point for library research and library services.


Multisearch: Find books and articles with a single search. The default search box on the home page.

 


GILFind: The book, ebook and video catalog. This is the "Books & More" search on the home page. If your book is not available at UGA, you can search and borrow from other University System of Georgia (USG) libraries.


GALILEO@UGA: A collection of hundreds of useful databases. Access them by title through the Databases A-Z button, or use the Research by Subject button to get suggested databases for a subject area.

Finding Specific Articles

If you're looking for a specific journal article, click on "Journals by Title," and type in the name of the Journal where it was published, or the ISSN of the journal.  This will tell you which databases have the full text of the article you want.

Gil-Find

Locate UGA books, media, and print journals. Use Advanced Search >> Search Scope >>USG to find other USG library books, which can be requested and delivered to UGA Libraries within 3-5 days.

Streaming Video

Off-campus use of these resources requires UGA login:

Films on Demand 
Offers streaming video for over 7,000 educational films in the arts & humanities, social sciences, business & economics, health & medicine, and science & mathematics as well as a collection of United Newsreels. Films are broken into segments for easy viewing.

Kanopy 
Documentaries that address issues in the fields of Human Rights, Civil Rights, and Gender Studies. UGA has access to a small subset of the Kanopy collection.

Birds of North America Online 
Contains full descriptions of the bird species of North America. There are images, sound files, and video clips associated with most birds in the database.

Dance Online: Dance in Video 
Provides streaming videos covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos.

Met Opera on Demand 
Online streaming database provides video and/or audio access to over 600 full-length productions from New York۪'s Metropolitan Opera, including recent high-definition videos, telecasts from the 1970s-2000s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.

Music Online: Classical Performance in Video 
Over 2,000 streaming classical music performance videos including operas, concertos, symphonies, and other genres along with documentaries, interviews, music instruction videos, and more. 

Search Strategy Builder

SSB created by University of Arizona Libraries and located at GitHub