Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Honors Scholars: GALILEO!

What is GALILEO?

GALILEO is a catch all term for the online resources that UGA offers to students.  Thins includes ebooks, scholarly journals, newspapers, videos, photographs...you get the picture.  We have nearly 500 different databases.

All of our online resources are organized into databases by subject.  To find the handful of databases that would be useful to you, click on the Resources by Subject Button next to the Multi Search.

From here you can choose what you're studying and see the databases that contain the research material you need.

Finding Full Text

If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:

  • Simply click on the link and you will have access to the article.

If it does NOT have those links:

  • Click on the FindIt@UGA button under the result;
  • If we have access to article in another database, a link either directly to the article or to the online version of the journal will be provided;

All GALILEO databases have the FindIt@UGA button to help you access the full text articles in the UGA Libraries.

Off Campus Access

A question we get a lot if "we're supposed to have access to this, why can't I get it?"

Often when users have problems accessing a resource it is because they are not trying to get to it through our GALILEO database links.  Often they just Googled it and clicked on a link.  If you don't go through GALILEO then websites don't know that you're affiliated with UGA, and they won't let you access their material without paying a hefty fee - a fee you don't have to pay!

Here are some common problems with accessing online resources and how to get around them:

1) You're off campus and you've found something in the Multi Search but when you click on it you can see it.  

If you're off campus you have to sign into GALILEO to prevent this from happening.  First, do your search in the Multi Search (this only happens with the Multi Search.  Then click on the yellow banner at the top of the screen that says "Sign in Guest."  Sign in with your MyID and password and you will able to click on links.

2) "I Googled this article, found a link to the publisher, and how it is asking me for money!"

Since you didn't find it through GALILEO, the publishers site doesn't know that you're affiliated with UGA.  We may that article through a completely different database as well.  The best thing to do is use our E-Journal button on the homepage.  Type in the name of the journal you're trying to access and it will tell you if we have a subscription to something which database it is located in.  When you click on this link it will force you to go through your MyID log in.

Direct URLs and Permalinks

If you want to save an article or book to read later, you will be tempted to just bookmark it in your browser.  Later you will be very disappointed when the bookmark doesn't work.  Many of our databases assign you a temporary "session" when you log in, and after a certain amount of time that session ends, and all the URLs end with it.  This is in place to guard your privacy and to prevent unauthorized access.  If you find an article you want to save, you have a few options:

1) Email it to yourself.

Email may be passe, but if you email the articles to yourself the database will send you permanent links them.  Each database allows you to mark the articles you want, and then displays some sort of icon for you to click on to email them to yourself.

2) Use a direct link or permalink. 

Databases do allow you to bookmark searches and specific articles, you just need to know where to look.  Next to an article you will see an icon that says "Permalink" or Direct URL.  Click on this and you'll be able to bookmark that link for permanent access that won't time out.