Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

British Parliamentary Papers and Other British Government Documents

Sessional Papers: House of Commons

NOTE: Between 1541 and 1730, it is often necessary to rely on the Journals (described above) for reports of committees and government departments. These publications are indexed in the printed Journals under the headings "Printing" and "Reports of Committees." 

 

U.K. Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest)

House of Commons Papers 1715-present (bills, reports of Parliamentary Committees, Royal Commission reports, Accounts & Papers)

 

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Reports from Committees of the House of Commons which have been printed by order of the House and not inserted in the Journals (1715-1801)...16 volumes.
MAGIL, compact shelving (folio J301 .K5).

This set is also known as the "first series". Volume 1 is the index. For a description see Ford's Guide to Parliamentary Papers, p. 22.

 

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. House of Commons Sessional Papers of the eighteenth Century,(1715/29-1799/1800) Scholarly Resources. 147 volumes.
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .K265).

The Library has the complete set. This set, which was compiled and edited by Sheila Lambert, includes some items not available in the the 16 volume set listed above. Arrangement is by topic rather than strictly chronological. Two volumes, Introduction & List, provide indexing to the set.

 

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. British Sessional Papers. Readex Corporation.
MAGIL, closed stacks (MCP J301 .K61).

The Library has 1731-1978/79. The volume numbering corresponds to the official bound volume set. The following boxes contain some fire-damaged microprints: 1801-1802, Vols. I-VII; 1857-1858, Vol. XLI; 1863-1900, Collection of Indexes General Annual ; 1884, Vols. I-XXIV

 

Irish University Press Series of British Parliamentary Papers.
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .R2).

This set contains approximately1000 volumes covering the period 1800-1900. Arrangement is by topic rather than by year. Some papers are included which are not in the microprint volumes owned by the library. The index for this set is the Checklist of British parliamentary papers... described below.

 

Irish University Press Area Studies Series, British Parliamentary Papers.
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301. R22 et seq.).

The University of Georgia Libraries holdings include multi-volume sets of selected papers, primarily from the 19th century, covering the United States, Central and South America (vol. 41: Venezuela only), China, Japan, and Russia (vol. 7 only).

 

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. [Parliamentary Papers].
MAGIL, open stacks (Gt. Brit. 10-2).

Library has unbound parliamentary papers from the House of Commons covering 1967/68 through 1982. This collection may not be complete. The unbound papers lack the page-numbering and sessional indexes of the official bound volumes.

 

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Sessional Papers, 1979-80-present.
MAGIL, British microfiche cabinets, call numbers as listed below.

  • 1979-1980, all series (J301 .K61)
  • 1980/81- Command Papers (Gt. Brit. 10-1)
  • 1980/81- House of Commons Papers (Gt. Brit 10-2)
  • 1980/81- Bills (Gt. Brit. 10-3)

 

House of Commons Publications on the Internet.
http://www.parliament.uk/business/publications/commons/

This site includes debates, 1988-present. Other series such as committee reports offer more limited years of coverage.

 

Indexes

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Introduction and List of Papers (volumes 1 and 2 of: House of Commons Sessional Papers of the 18th Century, Scholarly Resources).
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .K265).

Volume one covers 1715-1760 and volume two covers 1761-1800.

 

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Hansard's Catalogue and Breviate of Parliamentary Papers, 1696-1834.
MAGIL, index area (J301 .K62 1953).

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Catalogue of Papers Printed by Order of the House of Commons from the Year 1731 to 1800.(Reprint, Irish University Press).
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .R2 Index V.1.

For the period 1731-1800 this index contains somewhat more detail than Hansard's Catalogue and Breviate of Parliamentary Papers, 1696-1834. This index is also available in the Readex microprint set of British Sessional Papers in the third box from the beginning partially entitled "Catalogue and Index 1731-1800".

 

Irish University Press.Checklist of British parliamentary papers in the Irish University Press 1000-volume series, 1801-1899.
MAGIL, index area (J301 .R212, index area).

This is usually the best index to use with the 1000 volume IUP set. Is some cases it may be necessary to use a more detailed subject index to first identify a paper on your topic and then trace the paper's location in the IUP using the Checklist.

 

Cockton, Peter. Subject Catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 1801-1900. Chadwyck-Healey.
MAGIL, index area (DA530 .C620 1988, index area).

This five volume set gives comprehensive listings by subject of the entire output of nineteenth century Parliamentary papers. The set covers bills, statistical series, and annual reports as well as policy documents. The session dates and volume numbers used in the index may be used to locate the paper in British Sessional Papers. [Readex Corporation. MAGIL, closed stacks (MCP J301 .K61)].

 

NOTE: In any General... and Sessional Indexes to the House of Commons Sessional Papers listed below the page number refers to the page number of the official House of Commons library volumes. The microprint set, British Sessional Papers, utilizes these page numbers.

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. General Index to the Reports of Select Committees...1801-1852.(Reprint, Irish University Press).
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .R2 Index V.2).

This index is also available in the Readex microprint set of British Sessional Papers in the index box entitled "Collection of Indexes 1696-1900".

 

*missing. Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. General Index to the Accounts and Papers, Reports, Reports of Commissioners, Estimates, etc., printed by order of the House of Commons, or presented by command, 1801-1852. (Reprint, Irish University Press).
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .R2 Index V.3. Another copy is available at J301 .M3).

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. General Index to the Bills...1801-1852.
[In: British Sessional Papers. Readex Corporation. MAGIL, closed stacks (MCP J301 .K61). Look in the index box labeled "Collection of Indexes 1696-1900".]

*vols. 4 & 5 missing. Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. General Index to the Bills, Reports, Estimates, Accounts and Papers...1852-1899. (Reprint, Irish University Press).
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .R2 Index Vols.4-8).

This index is also available in: British Sessional Papers. Readex Corporation, MAGIL, closed stacks (MCP J301 .K61). Look in the index box labeled "Collection of Indexes 1696-1900".

 

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Sessional Indexes, 1801-1978/79.
[In: British Sessional Papers. Readex Corporation. MAGIL, closed stacks (MCP J301 .K61).]

For the period 1801-1900 look in the index boxes labeled "Collection of Indexes General Annual 1801-1862" and "Collection of Indexes General Annual 1863-1900". A few years missing from these are in the box labeled "Collection of Indexes 1696-1900". The following boxes contain some fire-damaged microprints: 1801-1802, Vols. I-VII; 1857-1858, Vol. XLI; 1863-1900, Collection of Indexes General Annual ; 1884, Vols. I-XXIV

For the period 1901-1978/79 the index is generally the last volume of each session's set of volumes. Some years the sessional index will be in the last volume of the section labelled Accounts and Papers. A decennial index covering 1950-1959 is in volume XXXIX of the session for 1962/63.

 

Ford, Percy Select List of British Parliamentary Papers, 1833-1899.
MAGIL, index area (J301 .M3 1969, index area).

 

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, CD-ROM Index, 1991/92 session - present. [Chadwyck-Healey]
MAGIL