Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 4892: Medieval Manuscripts & Where to Find Them (Camp): Biographies

The encyclopedias and collections in the first section below are good places to begin searching for biographical information. Additional places to search for information about your historical figure are at the bottom of this page.

Encyclopedias & Collected Biographies

Locating More Information

GIL Find Library Catalog: Books, ebooks, films, and some manuscript collections held by UGA. 

JSTOR: Full text articles from scholarly journals; also includes some ebooks.

Medieval & Early Modern Bibliographies: Index to articles and books on medieval civilizations. To locate the full publication:

  • Look for "External Links" at the bottom. If none, or if they lead to a paywall, then:
    • "Article in book": find the book's title next to "Title of Publication" and search for it in GIL Find.
    • 'Article in journal": find the journal's title next to "Title of Publication" and search for it the journal locator
    • Interlibrary Loan can get you PDFs of articles and chapters for free.

Multi-Search: Combined search of more than 180 of our article databases and the GIL Find catalog. Use the filters to refine your results to academic journal and/or books. Does not include Medieval & Early Modern Bibliographies nor the full JSTOR search.

HathiTrust and Google Books: The two largest collections of digitized books. Although many are still within copyright and not viewable online, you can still search within the text and often see some pages as a preview. Search GIL Find to locate the books; request ones we do not own via Interlibrary Loan.

WorldCat: Shared catalog for most libraries in North America, many in the UK, and some in other countries. This library subscription includes more comprehensive information than the free version at worldcat.org.

Genealogy resources may help locate basic information about less famous individuals:

Ancestry Library Edition: Extensive collection of genealogical records, primarily U.S. but includes some other counties.

Germany Genealogy (FamilySearch): Guidance and links to German genealogical records.

Obituaries can be a source of factual biographical information if your person is deceased (obvously!) and lived during the 19th century or later:

Times Digital Archive: The Times of London from 1785-2012.

New York Times Historical Full Text: 1851-2016

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Emily Hopkins
Contact:
Main Library
Collection Development
Email: ehopkins@uga.edu

Online Office Hours
By appointment: ehopkins@uga.edu
Website

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Kristin Nielsen
she/her/hers
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department
knielsen@uga.edu
706-542-0654