It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information and images documenting religious iconography, C.E. 65 to C.E 1500.
The Index of Medieval Art records the iconography of works of Christian and non-Christian art produced from early apostolic times (approximately C.E. 65) up to C.E 1500 Begun as a card index in 1917, each card, and since 1991 each database record, contains bibliographic citations from books and journals, descriptive information, provenance, location and ownership information, and, when available, photographic reproduction of the recorded work of art.
The Index of Medieval Art Database contains a portion of the Index's back files and all works electronically indexed by the archive since 1991. The database is both text and image. As works from the backfiles are electronically indexed, they will become available in the database. Reference to more than 1000 works of art are added each year.
Collection of digital images for art and architecture studies. Note: To download images, users must register for a free personal login. Searching and viewing images does not require an individual login.
The ARTstor Digital Library offers more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. ARTstor collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Combining Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete, covering over 630 full-text journals, plus full-text books and over 63,000 images.
Art & Architecture Source is a database that combines content from Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete. This new database covers over 630 full-text journals and more than 220 full-text books and includes over 63,000 images as well as art reproduction records.
Abstracts of articles on all aspects of art history.
International Bibliography of Art is the successor to the noted Bibliography of the History of Art. IBA covers European art since late antiquity, American art since the colonial era, and global art since 1945. All media are included: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history. IBA abstracts and indexes the contents of approximately 500 journals as well as selected essay collections, monographs, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs.