GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: ENGL 4892: Medieval Manuscripts &amp; Where to Find Them (Camp): Medieval Color

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Looking at Color

Exhibits on Medieval Color
Colour: The Art & Science of Illuminated Manuscripts
Be sure to explore both the website and catalogue (Main Library ND2897.C35 F58 2016) for the recent exhibit at the Fitzwilliam Museum in Cambridge.
Illuminated: Medieval Manuscripts in the Making
Visit the Lab section for information about artists' materials and techniques and methods of technical analysis used in studying the manuscripts housed at the Fitzwilliam Museum.

Images
ARTstor
Online image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. Search by material (iron gall), period (medieval), technique, artist, location, style, etc.

Medieval Recipe Books
Yale Traveling Scriptorium: Inks & Pigments
Includes the digitized Medieval to Early Modern Manuscripts: Some Ink & Pigment Recipes and Ink & Pigment Sampler
The Craftsman's Handbook | Il Libro Dell'Arte (Cennino Cennini)
Written in the 15th century, Cennini's handbook is an invaluable source of information about all aspects of the craft of the late medieval painter's workshop and techniques. English translation available in the Main Library (ND1130.C395 1954)

The Art of All Colours: Medieval Recipe Books for Painters and Illuminators by Mark Clarke
Call Number: Main Library 7th floor, ND1510 .C58 2001
ISBN: 1873132727
The Medieval Painter's Materials and Techniques: The Montpellier Liber Diversarum Arcium by Mark Clarke
Call Number: Main Library 7th floor, ND141 .C585 2011
ISBN: 9781904982647
This Liber diversarum arcium is probably the most substantial and comprehensive medieval painters' technical recipe book to survive. It summarizes the state-of-the art in the European workshops of the fourteenth century.

Researching Color

Reference & Background
Glossaries, handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works are the place to start for background, and can help you:

understand the basics of your topic, in clear nontechnical language.
identify useful keywords that you can use to search for articles or books.
find the titles of scholarly books and articles on your topic (look in the bibliography).

Understanding Illuminated Manuscripts: A Guide to Technical Terms by Michelle P. Brown
Call Number: Main Library 7th floor, ND2889 .B76 1994
ISBN: 9780892362172
Illustrated explanations of the specialized word-hoard employed by manuscript scholars, from acanthus to marginalia to zoomorphic initial. Online edition available from the British Library (or click the title):
https://www.bl.uk/catalogues/illuminatedmanuscripts/glossary.asp
Artist's Pigments: A Handbook of their History and Characteristics by Robert L. Feller (Editor)
Call Number: Main Library 7th floor, ND1510 .A77 1986
ISBN: 9780894680861
4-volume set describes the history, characteristics, and scientific analysis of artists’ pigments. V's 1-3 available online (or click the title): https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008232136
Materials and Techniques of Medieval Painting by Daniel V. Thompson; B. Berenson
Call Number: Main Library 7th floor, ND1500 .T471M 1956
ISBN: 9780486203270
This easy-to-use single-volume reference describes the carriers and grounds; binding media; pigments; coloring materials; and metals used in medieval painting.

Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art Online) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedic resource covering art history and artists worldwide.
Oxford Art Online offers users the ability to access the vast content of the Grove Dictionary of Art, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms all in one interface.

Books in the Library
Use the Libraries online catalog, GIL-Find (http://gilfind.uga.edu/), to locate books and other materials related to medieval pigment and color. Search using simple keywords (eg. medieval AND colorant, pigment, illumination, ink, polychromy, etc.) or Library of Congress Subject Headings, for example:

Pigments
Artists' Materials
Painting - Medieval
Painting, Medieval -- Technique
Illumination of Books & Manuscripts - Medieval
Art - Medieval
Color in Art
Science - Medieval
Red in Art

Scholarly Articles
Use the following GALILEO databases to locate scholarly journal articles on medieval painting from a variety of disciplines (art & art history, chemistry, history, literature, etc.)

Multi-Search
Multi-Search allows you to search a large number of databases simultaneously and view the results in one unified list. You can then limit your results by various criteria.

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) (now titled Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies) This link opens in a new window
Articles and books on medieval civilization
Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies, an expansion of the International Medieval Bibliography, combines three bibliographies that can be searched simultaneously: International Medieval Bibliography, Bibliographie de civilization mdivale, and Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance. Together these resources provide access to 14 centuries of European history from 300 to 1700.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Combining Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete, covering over 630 full-text journals, plus full-text books and over 63,000 images.
Art & Architecture Source is a database that combines content from Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete. This new database covers over 630 full-text journals and more than 220 full-text books and includes over 63,000 images as well as art reproduction records.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals with back issues from the date of first publication. Also includes some e-books.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.

Your Librarian

ENGL 4892: Medieval Manuscripts & Where to Find Them (Camp): Medieval Color

Looking at Color

Researching Color

Your Librarian

Your Librarian

Chat with Library Staff