Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
All Library Hours

ENGL 4892: Medieval Manuscripts & Where to Find Them (Camp): Sainte-Chapelle & Paris

Resources

Images

Index of Medieval Art (previously titled The Index of Christian Art) (not in MultiSearch)
Many images of illumination in manuscripts and breviaries from Sainte-Chapelle.

ARTStor (not in MultiSearch)
Many images of Sainte-Chapelle

Articles & book chapters 

Note: There is much overlap between the following resources. 

Multi-disciplinary resources:

Google Scholar (linked on our home page)
Useful for identifying scholarly articles and chapters on all relevant topics.

JSTOR
Similar to Google Scholar but covers a more limited universe of journals and excludes the latest few years of scholarship. 

Multi-Search  
Similar to Google Scholar but covers a more limited universe of journals. It searches many databases at once including several relevant to this course such as Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals and Art & Architecture Source.  Use the 'Database Provider' filter to see what is in each of these individual databases.  You can also open and search these databases separately from our Databases A-Z list.

Discipline-specific resources

International Bibliography of Art (not in MultiSearch)
Includes some full text.  Content about late medieval Paris as well as Sainte-Chapelle.

Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies (not in MultiSearch)
Indexing database, requires additional steps to locate the article text.   Content about late medieval Paris as well as Sainte-Chapelle. French language predominates but English present as well.

Iter : Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (not in MultiSearch)
Indexing database, requires additional steps to locate the article text.  Literary studies about the Medieval and Renaissance periods published since the mid-nineteenth century. Covers the journal, Fifteenth Century Studies. Many relevant articles are in French.

Bibliography of the History of Art (not in MultiSearch)
Indexing database, requires additional steps to locate the article text. Content about Sainte-Chapelle in French, English, and other languages.

Books

Books about topics relevant to this course can be found in GILFind, our catalog, e.g.,

Lenioud & Perrot. The Sainte Chapelle. (7th floor NA 5550 .S7 L45 2007) English.
Background information, images.

Le Tresor de la Sainte-Chapelle. (7th floor NK 1655 .P27 T74 2001) French.
Illumination of manuscripts, chapters covering specific centuries. 

Dictionnaire des Saints (6th floor BX4655 S2814) French.
French saints heavily represented.  Includes name index but French saint names not always similar to the English version. Includes a few illustrations.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text (not in MultiSearch)
Dissertations and theses from many universities with coverage of topics related to Sainte-Chapelle and early modern Paris. Mainly English language.  Includes full text in many cases.