Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

ENGL 4892: Medieval Manuscripts & Where to Find Them (Camp): Background

Background & Reference

Database of Latin Dictionaries
The database includes three types of dictionaries: dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words and historical Latin dictionaries, including medieval Latin dictionaries.
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
An essential reference work covering all aspects of European history, society, and culture from AD 500 to 1500.

Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art Online) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedic resource covering art history and artists worldwide.
Oxford Art Online offers users the ability to access the vast content of the Grove Dictionary of Art, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms all in one interface.

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Robert E. Bjork (Editor)
Call Number: Main Ref D114 .O94 2010 (Main Library 1st Floor Reference
An essential new reference work covering all aspects of European history, society, and culture from AD 500 to 1500.
Medieval Latin: An Introduction and Bibliographical Guide by F. A. C. Mantello (Editor); A. G. Rigg (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook or PA2802 .M43 1996 (Main Library 3rd Floor)
An excellent point of departure for the study of Latin texts and documents in any of the fields of medieval studies. (See also ebook: http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=zmnl&id=46128&inst=uga1)
New Catholic Encyclopedia by Catholic University of America Staff
Call Number: Main Ref BX841 .N44 2003 (Main Library 1st Floor Reference)
The 15-volume New Catholic Encyclopedia is a standard reference work for performing research on Catholicism. The encyclopedia includes coverage on Catholic doctrine, interpretations of the Bible and its prominent figures, and major figures in Catholicism; coverage extends from Biblical times into the present era. Bibliographies are provided for all entries.
The Vulgate Bible- Douay-Rheims Translation by Swift Edgar (Editor); Alex B. John; Cameron Karen; Keith Jeffrey
Call Number: BS180 2010 (Main Library 6th Floor)

The Art of the Book in the Middle Ages (Metropolitan Museum of Art)

The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History provides insightful, scholarly essays about objects in the museum's collection. The Art of the Book in the Middle Ages includes numerous primary and secondary essays related to medieval book-making and illustration as well as chronology and related works of art from the collection.

Your Librarian

Sheila Devaney

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Research & Instruction Department
Main Library
Online Office Hours
By appointment:
sdevaney@uga.edu

706-542-8708

Subjects: Advertising & Public Relations, American Literature, Communication Studies, Comparative Literature, English Literature, Entertainment & Media Studies, Film Studies, Journalism & Mass Communication, Linguistics, Theatre

Your Librarian

Emily Hopkins

Email Me

Contact:

Main Library
Collection Development
Email: ehopkins@uga.edu

Online Office Hours
By appointment: ehopkins@uga.edu

Website

Subjects: Art & Architecture, Classics, Historic Preservation, Landscape Architecture, Philosophy, Religion

Next: Hagiography (The Saints) >>

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2024 9:40 AM

URL: https://guides.libs.uga.edu/medievalbook

Print Page

Login to LibApps

Report a problem.

Tags: class-guide, english