Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking at Color
Exhibits on Medieval Color
Colour: The Art & Science of Illuminated Manuscripts
Be sure to explore both the website and catalogue (Main Library ND2897.C35 F58 2016) for the recent exhibit at the Fitzwilliam Museum in Cambridge.
Illuminated: Medieval Manuscripts in the Making
Visit the Lab section for information about artists' materials and techniques and methods of technical analysis used in studying the manuscripts housed at the Fitzwilliam Museum.
Online image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. Search by material (iron gall), period (medieval), technique, artist, location, style, etc.
Medieval Recipe Books
Yale Traveling Scriptorium: Inks & Pigments
Includes the digitized Medieval to Early Modern Manuscripts: Some Ink & Pigment Recipes and Ink & Pigment Sampler
The Craftsman's Handbook | Il Libro Dell'Arte (Cennino Cennini)
Written in the 15th century, Cennini's handbook is an invaluable source of information about all aspects of the craft of the late medieval painter's workshop and techniques. English translation available in the Main Library (ND1130.C395 1954)
The Art of All Colours: Medieval Recipe Books for Painters and Illuminators by
Call Number: Main Library 7th floor, ND1510 .C58 2001
The Medieval Painter's Materials and Techniques: The Montpellier Liber Diversarum Arcium by
Call Number: Main Library 7th floor, ND141 .C585 2011
This Liber diversarum arcium is probably the most substantial and comprehensive medieval painters' technical recipe book to survive. It summarizes the state-of-the art in the European workshops of the fourteenth century.
Reference & Background
Glossaries, handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works are the place to start for background, and can help you:
- understand the basics of your topic, in clear nontechnical language.
- identify useful keywords that you can use to search for articles or books.
- find the titles of scholarly books and articles on your topic (look in the bibliography).
Understanding Illuminated Manuscripts: A Guide to Technical Terms by
Call Number: Main Library 7th floor, ND2889 .B76 1994
Illustrated explanations of the specialized word-hoard employed by manuscript scholars, from acanthus to marginalia to zoomorphic initial. Online edition available from the British Library (or click the title):
Materials and Techniques of Medieval Painting by
Call Number: Main Library 7th floor, ND1500 .T471M 1956
This easy-to-use single-volume reference describes the carriers and grounds; binding media; pigments; coloring materials; and metals used in medieval painting.
Books in the Library
Use the Libraries online catalog, GIL-Find (http://gilfind.uga.edu/), to locate books and other materials related to medieval pigment and color. Search using simple keywords (eg. medieval AND colorant, pigment, illumination, ink, polychromy, etc.) or Library of Congress Subject Headings, for example:
Use the following GALILEO databases to locate scholarly journal articles on medieval painting from a variety of disciplines (art & art history, chemistry, history, literature, etc.)
Multi-Search allows you to search a large number of databases simultaneously and view the results in one unified list. You can then limit your results by various criteria.