Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

Distance Learning Services for Students: Research Assistance

This guide addresses some of the questions you may have as a distance learning student.

Library Guides

We have created a large number of library guides to help you with your research.

Citing Sources

UGA Libraries Citation Style Guides  provides examples of commonly cited items such as books, articles, databases, and websites from many different citation styles.

The Purdue Online Writing Lab: Research and Citation Sources  This website provides more in-depth discussions of APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

Ask a Question

Chat with us!  Type your question in the box and a librarian will respond to you.  The chat box is available on all of our library guides as well as the libraries’ homepage.

Email the Distance Education Librarian!  Send your question to John Prechtel at prechtel@uga.edu.  He'll provide guidance about finding and choosing appropriate information sources through email. Please be as specific as possible about your information needs.  Turn-around time on email questions is usually one business day.

Talk to a specialist!   We provide Zoom or chat sessions to accommodate your schedule. Please contact us and set up a meeting with a subject area specialist.

Call us!  We’ll help you with your research questions or find someone who can.  You can reach us by phone at the following numbers (Some numbers may not be monitored until UGA reopens):

  • Main Library Reference - (706) 542-3251
  • Science Reference - (706) 542-0698
  • Miller Learning Center - (706) 542-7000
  • Curriculum Materials Library - (706) 542-2957
  • Access Services (Circulation) - (706) 542-3256
  • Access Services after 5 PM (706) 542-0641

Find dissertations at UGA? At other Universities?

University of Georgia dissertations from 2001 and later are available electronically and can be found in the database, ScholarWorksUGA.  Many dissertations, prior to 2001, are in a print format only and are stored at the Libraries’ Repository. They can be found by searching the libraries' GIL catalog.  You may request that a print-only dissertation be retrieved from the Repository for you to check out in person, or, you may have it sent to the nearest University System of Georgia library for you to pick up there.  Dissertations from other universities can be found in the GALILEO database, Proquest Dissertations and Theses.  Many dissertations in this database are now available full-text.  To obtain a copy of a dissertation that is not available for free in full text or that is not listed at all in the database, it may be possible to borrow the dissertation from the library at the institution where the dissertation was taken by submitting a request through our Interlibrary Loan Department.