Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newspapers at the UGA Libraries: How To...

A guide to finding newspapers online and on microfilm at the UGA Libraries, including historical and international newspapers.

HOW TO...

FIND A NEWSPAPER BY TITLE

For online coverage through UGA subscriptions:

Thousands of newspapers are available full-text online through UGA Libraries database subscriptions, with both current and historical coverage. To find a specific newspaper, search for the newspaper title in the Find Journal by Title search tool, which will show you links to online databases that provide full-text articles. The display also indicates the specific years of full-text coverage available from each database.
 

For newspapers on microfilm at UGA:

A large collection of newspapers on microfilm is located in the basement of the UGA Main Library, organized by call number. To find newspapers available on microfilm at the UGA Libraries, search the Unified Newspaper Database or use the Find Journal by Title search tool. The Unified Newspaper Database offers convenient search features that let you target newspapers from a particular city, county, or time period. Please note that we may not have all the issues of a newspaper for a particular year  the Find Journal by Title search tool will provide the most detailed list of specific issues available on microfilm, if there are some issues missing. The UGA Libraries do not retain paper issues of newspapers.

Another useful resource is our guide to African-American Newspapers on Microfilm at the UGA Libraries which includes listings by title, by state, and chronologically.
 

Look for free digitized historical newspapers online:

Search NewspaperCat (Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers) by title or location.
 

Don't know a specific newspaper title? 

  • The holdings list of the Georgia Newspaper Project lists GA newspaper titles by city or county, and can be useful for tracing title changes as local papers combined.
  • The Unified Newspaper Database is searchable by location. Enter a city, county, or state to view a list of newspapers available on microfilm.
  • Try a keyword search in our GIL library catalog for the location name and "newspapers".

 

FIND NEWSPAPER ARTICLES ON A TOPIC

Current or Recent News

If you are not looking for a specific newspaper but just want to find some news articles on a topic, you can search these large databases to find full-text news articles from thousands of different newspapers, ranging from today's latest headlines going back several decades:

In addition to these major databases, you can also view a complete list of all newspaper databases.

Historical News

The UGA Libraries offer access to many online databases that provide full-text articles from historical newspapers.

We also have print volumes indexing historical newspapers, allowing you to look up a keyword or subject and determine on what specific dates articles were published relating to that subject. Armed with the date and page number, you can then find the call number for the microfilm of the newspaper (by looking in the UGA Unified Newspaper Database or GIL catalog) and go to the microfilm to find the relevant article. 

Lists of these indexes are available under the tabs for Georgia, National, and International Newspapers in this guide.

 

FIND INFORMATION ABOUT NEWSPAPERS

Looking for information about a newspaper, its circulation, history, or parent company?  Try the following database:

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Eric Griffith
Contact:
ecg@uga.edu
Subjects: Criminal Justice

Search Tip

Not finding the article you want? Search tip — if you saw an article on a newspaper website, the headline (title) of the article might be different in a newspaper database from the headline displayed on the newspaper's website. If searching by headline does not find any matches, try searching for some keywords that describe the content of the article.

For additional help, please see the Research Help and Tips page or contact Eric Griffith at ecg@uga.edu