Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

Newspapers at the UGA Libraries: Georgia Newspapers

A guide to finding newspapers online and on microfilm at the UGA Libraries, including historical and international newspapers.

Georgia Newspapers

FIND A GEORGIA NEWSPAPER BY TITLE

To search for a Georgia newspaper by title, see the How To... page in this guide.

 

SEARCH GEORGIA NEWSPAPERS FOR ARTICLES ON A TOPIC

Access World News is a Best Bet for Georgia newspapers. Among our many newspaper database subscriptions, the Georgia News Sources section of Access World News provides the most extensive state-level coverage of newspapers in Georgia, ranging from large and mid-sized cities to smaller towns. 

Other useful large databases that you can search by keyword to find full-text news articles include:

See also the list of print indexes and news digests for Georgia newspapers at the bottom of this page.

 

LOCAL NEWSPAPERS

Athens Banner Herald

  • In Access World News (1999-present)
  • 1880-1915, 1923-1930, 1933-2016 available in Microfilm, Main Library Basement AN13 .A8 A7 (Athens Banner Herald / Athens Banner / Athens Daily Banner / Banner Watchman)

The Red and Black (UGA student newspaper)

Flagpole Magazine

 

TOP GEORGIA DAILY NEWSPAPERS

Albany Herald

  • In Access World News (2009-present)
  • 1892-1904, 1906-present available in Microfilm, Main Library Basement AN13.A3 A26

Atlanta Journal-Constitution

  • Atlanta Journal / Atlanta Journal-Constitution Historical and Current Collection (1883-present, including full-page images in downloadable PDF format 1883-2001 and 2017-present)
  • Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984) via ProQuest Historical Newspapers — every issue includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format
  • 1881-2019 available in Microfilm, Main Library Basement AN13 .A82 A8/A81 (more recent years of digital microfilm available from Access World News)

Atlanta Daily World

  • In Access World News (2000-present)
  • Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) via ProQuest Historical Newspapers — every issue includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format
  • 1932-2013 available in Microfilm, Main Library Basement AN13.A82 A88

Augusta Chronicle

  • In Access World News (1994-present, including full page images in downloadable PDF format 2018-present)
  • 1885-2017 available in Microfilm, Main Library Basement AN13 .A88 (more recent years of digital microfilm available from Access World News)

Brunswick News

  • In Access World News (1902-present, including full-page images in downloadable PDF format 1902-2009 and 2018-present)
  • In Gale OneFile (2007-present) 
  • 1902-03, 1906-2012 available in Microfilm, Main Library Basement AN13.B7 N48

Columbus Ledger-Enquirer

  • In Access World News (1993-present, including full page images in downloadable PDF format 2018-present)
  • 1903-06, 1910-1988 available in Microfilm, Main Library Basement AN13.C7 C726
  • 1988-2017 available in Microfilm, Main Library Basement AN13.C7 E72 (more recent years of digital microfilm available from Access World News)

Gwinnett Daily Post

  • In Access World News (2005-present)
  • 1995-2016 available in Microfilm, Main Library Basement AN13.L4 G95

Macon Telegraph

  • In Access World News (1994-present, including full page images in downloadable PDF format 2018-present)
  • 1860-1866, 1868-1869, 1871-1873, 1885-2017 available in Microfilm, Main Library Basement AN13.M13 M2 (more recent years of digital microfilm available from Access World News)

Marietta Daily Journal

  • In Access World News (1868-present, including full page images in downloadable PDF format 1868-1998 and 2018-present) 
  • 1868-1876, 1879-1883, 1885-1924, 1926-2006 available in Microfilm, Main Library Basement AN13.M3 M3

Savannah Morning News

  • In Access World News (1999-present)
  • 1850-1864, 1866-present available in Microfilm, Main Library Basement AN13.S45 S26

 

HISTORICAL GEORGIA NEWSPAPERS ONLINE

The Georgia Historic Newspapers archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia that provides free access to digitized online versions of historical GA newspapers. Based at the University of Georgia Libraries, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use and includes over one million Georgia newspaper pages between 1786 and 1986.

The America's Historical Newspapers database contains digital reproductions of historical newspapers including 22 publications from Georgia covering the years 1763-1925.

Historical coverage of the following Georgia newspapers is available through UGA Libraries database subscriptions:

An online archive of UGA's student newspaper The Red and Black (for the years 1893-2006) is provided by the Georgia Historic Newspapers archive.

 

GEORGIA NEWSPAPERS ON MICROFILM

Need to find a call number to locate microfilm for a newspaper? Search the UGA Unified Newspaper Database or search the GIL catalog.

UGA is home to the Georgia Newspaper Project which has been microfilming Georgia newspapers since the early 1950s. As a result, the UGA Libraries own microfilm of most newspapers in Georgia. The GNP provides a list of Georgia newspapers (alphabetical by city) owned by UGA in microfilm. Dates available are included (overall coverage is 18th century to the present). Microfilm is available for viewing and printing/emailing/downloading in the Main Library basement.

 

PRINT NEWSPAPERS INDEXES — GEORGIA

Use print indexes to identify articles on a specific topic – save time spent browsing!

Bibliographies of Indexes:

Georgia Library Resources: Newspapers, Indexes, Bibliographies
Z6945 .G490 (Main 2nd floor, and Hargrett, Georgia Room)

Local Indexes in American Libraries: A Union List of Unpublished Indexes
Z6293 .A512l (Main 2nd floor)

Newspaper Indexes : a Location and Subject Guide for Researchers
Z6951 .M635 (Main Reference 1st floor)

Print Newspaper Indexes:

Atlanta:

Atlanta Constitution: A Georgia Index (1971-1979)
AI21 .A7 (Main Reference, 1st floor, and Hargrett, Georgia Room)
Indexes items related to GA only.

Atlanta Journal, Atlanta Constitution Index (Jan.-March 1982, 1983-present)
AI21 .A71 A84 (Main Reference 1st floor and Hargrett, Georgia Room).
See also Atlanta Constitution Historical Full Text (ProQuest) (1868-1945), which is keyword-searchable.

Atlanta Journal Card Index (1944-1979)
AI21 .A710 (Main Reference 1st floor, on microfiche in 3-ring binders; may be shelved by microfiche reader)

Negro Progress in Atlanta, Georgia: A Selective Bibliography on Race and Human Relations from Four Atlanta Newspapers
1950-1960: Z1361 .N39 M30 (Hargrett, Georgia Room)
1961-1970: Z1361 .N39 M32 (Main 2nd floor)
Indexes the Atlanta Consitution, Atlanta Daily World, Atlanta Inquirer, and Atlanta Journal on this topic.

Augusta:

Personal Name Index to the Augusta Chronicle (1786-1830)
F285 .W25 1987 (Hargrett, Georgia Room)

Savannah:

Annals of Savannah/Savannah Newspaper Digest (1850-1869)
AN13 .S45 S3 (Hargrett, Georgia Room)

General Index to Contents of Savannah, Georgia Newspapers 1763-1825: AI3 .G324 (Hargrett, Georgia Room)
1826-1830: AI3 .G325 (Hargrett, Georgia Room)
1831-1835: AI3 .G326 (Hargrett, Georgia Room)
1836-1840: AI3 .G3261 (Hargrett, Georgia Room)
1841-1845: AI3 .G3262 (Hargrett, Georgia Room)
Indexes the American Patriot, Columbian Museum, Columbian Museum & Savannah Advertiser, Daily Georgian, Gazette of the State of Georgia, Georgia Gazette, Georgia Journal and Independent Federal Register, Georgia Republican, Georgia Republican & State Intelligencer, Georgian, Georgian & Evening Advertiser, Patriot & Commercial Advertiser, Public Intelligencer, Republican & Savannah Evening Ledger, Royal Georgia Gazette, Savannah Daily Republican, Savannah Gazette, Savannah Georgian, Savannah Museum, Savannah Republican, and Southern Patriot.

Savannah Morning News Index (1850; 1870-1892; 1951-1985)
AN13 .S45 S35 Index (Hargrett, Georgia Room)

Swainsboro:

An Index to Swainsboro, Georgia Newspapers (1901-1910)
F294 .S92 D670 (Main 4th floor and Hargrett, Georgia Room)
Indexes the Wiregrass Blade, Pine Forest, and Forest Blade.

Valdosta:

Valdosta Daily Times: A Georgia Index (1974-1975; 1985-1993)
AI3 .V2 (Repository)
Indexes only items related to GA.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Eric Griffith
Contact:
ecg@uga.edu

Search Tip

Not finding the article you want? Search tip — if you saw an article on a newspaper website, the headline (title) of the article might be different in a newspaper database from the headline displayed on the newspaper's website. If searching by headline does not find any matches, try searching for some keywords that describe the content of the article.

For additional help, please see the Research Help and Tips page or contact Eric Griffith at ecg@uga.edu

Newspapers on Microfilm

A large collection of newspapers on microfilm format is located in the basement of the UGA Main Library. Before digital storage became easy and cheap, microfilm was a format that libraries could use to maintain large collections of newspapers and other documents while saving physical storage space. Rolls of microfilm contain thousands of tiny images of the original documents. You need to use a microfilm reader to view newspapers on microfilm. A microfilm reader is a machine that allows you to view an image from microfilm at a normal size on a screen, and you can also print and save images of pages. Microfilm readers are available in the basement of the UGA Main Library.