Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newspapers at the UGA Libraries: Ethnic

A guide to finding newspapers online and on microfilm at the UGA Libraries, including historical and international newspapers.

Ethnic News Resources

MULTI-ETHNIC

Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a full-text collection of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals published in America, covering the years 1959-present. The full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 340 publications includes many unique community publications not found in any other database. Ethnic NewsWatch covers these ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native Peoples.

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers from 1777-1963. Use the “Ethnicity” search box to view newspapers from over 30 different ethnic groups. Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

 

AFRICAN AMERICAN

African-American Newspapers: the 19th Century
This enormous collection of African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s as reflected in the African-American press. Starting with the Freedom's Journal in 1827 and continuing with The Colored American, The North Star, National Era, Provincial Freeman, The Frederick Douglass Paper, The Christian Recorder and other sources, this full-text database makes available important original source material, written by African Americans for African Americans. Part of the Accessible Archives collection.

African American Newspapers Series 1 & 2, 1827-1998
Online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles providing a one-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture, and daily life. As part of Readex's America’s Historical Newspapers site, the African American Newspapers collection was created from the most extensive African-American newspaper archives in the world.

Black Life in America
Documents the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, from 1704 to today. From Black-owned newspapers to mainstream publications, this primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture, and daily life — as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Black Life in America features content from more than 19,000 U.S. and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications, providing comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day.

Atlanta Daily World Historical Full Text
Full text of “The voice of the Southern black community” covering 1931-2003. The Atlanta Daily World is Atlanta's oldest Black newspaper, launched to educate, inspire, uplift, and promote the expression of the Southern black community. The database provides full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.

Another useful resource is our guide to African-American Newspapers on Microfilm at the UGA Libraries which includes listings by title, by state, and chronologically.

 

ASIAN AMERICAN

Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection
The world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America. Currently 143 titles comprising 855,593 images have been made available in the online collection. Provided by the Hoover Institution Library & Archives.

 

EUROPEAN AMERICAN

Danish American Newspapers
A digital library of Danish-American newspapers from California, Illinois, Iowa, and Nebraska. The archive is created and maintained by the Museum of Danish America in Elk Horn, Iowa.

Portuguese American Digital Newspaper Collections
Digitized Portuguese-American newspapers from New England, California, and Hawaii. Provided by the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth.

Swedish American Newspapers
An online portal that allows users to explore and search over 300,000 digitized newspaper pages from 32 different Swedish American newspaper titles published across the United States between 1857 and 2007. The purpose of the project is to digitize Swedish language newspapers published in the U.S. and make them available online as a rich resource for scholarly research on Swedish American history. Swedish American Newspapers was created through a partnership of the Minnesota Historical Society, the National Library of Sweden, and the American Swedish Institute.

 

HISPANIC / LATINO / LATINX

Acceda Noticias
Spanish-language news from the U.S. and abroad, including more than 180 Spanish-language news sources from major cities in the United States and from more than 20 countries. Features original Spanish-language content as well as translations from original language of publication.

U.S. Hispanic Newsstream
Offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago).

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
This open-access digital collection provided by the University of Arizona Libraries documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

 

JEWISH

Historical Jewish Press
This open-access digital archive makes available online a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods from 1843 to the present, including extremely rare newspapers to which access has been previously impossible. Provided by Tel Aviv University and the National Library of Israel, the website aims to provide representation of all the Jewish communities of the world and of the newspapers which they have published.

The Southern Israelite
"The voice of Atlanta's Jewish community since 1925." This open-access online archive covers 1929-1986 and is provided by the Digital Library of Georgia and GALILEO. Published in Atlanta, The Southern Israelite newspaper was so popular that it began circulating state-wide and eventually throughout the South. From its earliest years, the paper covered not only the news of the southern Jewry, but also the issues that involved Jewish populations throughout the nation and world, including the Holocaust and later the creation of the Jewish state of Israel.

 

NATIVE AMERICAN / FIRST NATIONS

American Indian Newspapers
Digital editions of 45 newspapers from the U.S. and Canada spanning 1828 - present day reveal how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities. American Indian Newspapers presents a diverse collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada, including national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications, along with bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Eric Griffith
Contact:
ecg@uga.edu
Subjects: Criminal Justice

Newspapers on Microfilm

A large collection of newspapers on microfilm format is located in the basement of the UGA Main Library. Before digital storage became easy and cheap, microfilm was a format that libraries could use to maintain large collections of newspapers and other documents while saving physical storage space. Rolls of microfilm contain thousands of tiny images of the original documents. You need to use a microfilm reader to view newspapers on microfilm. A microfilm reader is a machine that allows you to view an image from microfilm at a normal size on a screen, and you can also print and save images of pages. Microfilm readers are available in the basement of the UGA Main Library.