Biography: GALILEO Databases

The American National Biography is a biographical encyclopedia of significant persons, no longer living, who have influenced the direction of American history. An American is loosely defined as someone whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence within what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history. Significance includes achievement (superior accomplishment as judged by contemporaries), fame (celebrity or notoriety), or influence (effect on one's own time despite lack of public notice). Even some ordinary persons have been included if they left autobiographies, diaries, or other artifacts that attracted posthumous attention.

Many of the biographies include an illustration or photograph of the person, a bibliography or links to other resources. New biographies are added quarterly, and updates are also made quarterly to incorporate new facts and new interpretations as needed. Produced by Oxford University Press under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index (in Gale Directory Library) helps you determine where to find biographical information on people from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. BGMI indexes thousands of biographical encyclopedias that are mostly available in hardcopy in the library.

These biographical entries are given context with links to related figures as well as published articles about the person.

Current biographies of all individuals who appeared in any one of the following Marquis print titles since 1985: Who_s Who in America, Who_s Who in the East, Who Was Who in America, Who_s Who in the Midwest, Who_s Who in the World, Who_s Who in the South & Southwest, Who_s Who of American Women, Who_s Who in the West, Who_s Who in Science & Engineering, Who_s Who in Media & Communications, Who_s Who in American Law, Who_s Who in Entertainment, Who_s Who in Medicine & Healthcare, Who_s Who in American Education, Who_s Who in Finance & Business (Formerly Who's Who in Finance & Industry), Who_s Who in American Nursing, Who_s Who in Religion, Who_s Who in 20th Century America, Who_s Who of Emerging Leaders in America, Who_s Who Among Human Services Professionals; profiles on over 1 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor. Search by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, religion and much more.

Biographical encyclopedia of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the 4th century BC to the year 2002.