Off-campus use of these resources requires UGA login:
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. NML offers streaming audio access to more than 140,000 CDs consisting of over 2 million tracks of music. Along with classical music, NML also includes selected jazz, world, and pop/rock music.
Music Online: Listening
A multidisciplinary streaming audio collection for music teaching and research. Provides coverage in key musical genres including classical, jazz, contemporary world music, popular music, and American music.
BabelScores: Contemporary Music Online
BabelScores Online Library lets you read thousands of recent classical music scores and listen to their recordings. Contains contemporary scores and audio from the past few decades, featuring composers worldwide with an emphasis on composers from Europe. Users have access to online scores (over 200,000 pages) and streaming audio.
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall
Streaming archive covering six decades including hundreds of performances by the Berliner Philharmoniker in high-def video and high-res audio. Also includes interviews, documentaries, and artist profiles. Individual registration is required.
Met Opera on Demand
Online streaming database provides audio and/or video access to over 600 full-length productions from New York۪'s Metropolitan Opera, including recent high-definition videos, telecasts from the 1970s-2000s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
Audio field recordings and interviews in ethnomusicology dating from the mid-twentieth century to the early twenty-first century. The audio recordings, videos, field notebooks and journals in this resource document musical traditions and how music interacts with different societies and cultures all over the globe. There are recordings from Alaska to the Pacific Islands, West Africa to Indonesia, including religious music, secular music, celebrations and funerals.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Covers genres including folk song, world music, spoken word, children's song, American Indian, traditional, protest songs, blues, and more.
Birds of the World
Guide to the birds of the world including descriptions, geographic distribution information, systematic information, habitats, behavior, and more. There are images, sound files, and video clips associated with most birds in the database.
These resources are freely available to all users from any location:
Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia provides access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life for researchers, scholars, students, and the general public. The DLG contains over 3,000 items with streaming audio, such as oral history interviews, speeches, lectures, sermons, music recordings and more. On the left menu, click "Type" and then select "Sound" and then add keywords to search for audio clips on whatever topic you would like to find.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA has a growing collection of sound recordings, including interviews and musical performances, from libraries across the U.S. After doing a keyword search for your topic, you can "refine your search" to find sound recordings.
Civil Rights Digital Library
The Civil Rights Digital Library provides educational content on the struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s. It includes a digital archive of sound recordings such as oral history interviews and speeches that allow learners to be nearly eyewitnesses to key events of the Civil Rights Movement.
Library of Congress Online Audio Collections
A rich source of recorded sounds including music, interviews, speeches, comic skits, liturgical chants, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Provides access to digitized American historical materials including images, maps, manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
Smithsonian Collections
Search over 16 million records of museum objects, archives, and library materials including more than 6 million online images, videos, and audio recordings.
Internet Archive: Audio Archive
Contains over 4.5 million audio recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to music and concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, and more.
Free Music Archive
An interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU, the most renowned freeform radio station in America. It serves as a platform for collaboration and provides a legal and technological framework for curators, artists, and listeners to harness the potential of music sharing.
ccMixter
A community music remixing site featuring remixes and samples licensed under Creative Commons licenses. Users are free to download and sample from music on this site and share the results with anyone, anywhere, anytime.
Free Sound Clips
Offers thousands of free sound effects and sound clips that can be used in a variety of sound projects including video sound scores, movie scoring, game design, powerpoint presentations, and more.
