The simplest way to locate an image is using Google's Image search. If you need to use an image, however, you may find those images to be of low quality and/or you may not be able to use the image due to copyright restrictions. The following sources contain many high-quality images, and in most cases they may be reproduced for academic purposes.
Off-campus use of these resources requires UGA login:
ARTstor
Nearly two million images from artistic traditions across many time periods and cultures. Includes images of painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, architecture, fashion, folklife, landscape design, maps, manuscripts, and more. You can access ARTstor through the link above to search and view images, but to download images you'll need to create a free account.
CAMIO
Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO) provides online access to high-quality art images contributed and described by leading museums, all rights-cleared for educational use. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
Madison Digital Image Database (MDID)
Login with your UGA credentials. MDID hosts the Art History Image Database, which includes many images from the slide collection of UGA's Lamar Dodd Art School as well as images taken by professors. This collection is not as large as ARTstor, but has been built specifically around the courses and professors at UGA.
Arts of the United States
A joint project between UGA's Lamar Dodd Art School and the libraries of the University of Georgia and Yale University, Arts of the United States contains over 4000 images of works important to the study of the history of art in the United States. The pieces, dating from the 17th century through the 20th, include architecture, decorative arts, painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, and stage and costume design as well as Native American art and artifacts.
Adam Matthew Explorer
Access millions of primary source documents spanning content from the the 15th-21st centuries, including illustrations, drawings, paintings, photographs, portraits, maps, postcards, posters, and other visual materials.
EBSCO Images
EBSCO's Image Collection contains over 100,000 photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Images are drawn from magazines, newspapers, the Library of Congress, Getty Images, and other archives.
Birds of the World
Guide to the birds of the world including descriptions, geographic distribution information, systematic information, habitats, behavior, and more. There are images, sound files, and video clips associated with most birds in the database.
These resources are freely available to all users from any location:
Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia provides access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life for researchers, scholars, students, and the general public. The DLG contains over 175,000 images such as photographs, maps, and more. On the left menu, click "Type" and then select "Still Image" and then add keywords to search for images on whatever topic you would like to find. Or to target your search more precisely, you can click "Medium" and then select options such as black-and-white photographs, color photographs, maps, postcards, editorial cartoons, paintings, or other image types.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA has a growing collection of digitized images, including historical photographs, postcards, and maps from libraries across the U.S. After doing a keyword search for your topic, you can "refine your search" to find images.
Vanishing Georgia
Vanishing Georgia contains nearly 18,000 photographs documenting over 100 years of the state's social, cultural, economic, and political history. The majority of the images date from 1890 through 1930.
Civil Rights Digital Library
The Civil Rights Digital Library provides educational content on the struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s. It includes a digital archive of historical images allowing learners to be nearly eyewitnesses to key events of the Civil Rights Movement. Image types available include photographs, cartoons, posters, prints, broadsides, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Provides access to digitized American historical materials including images, maps, manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
Smithsonian Collections
Search over 16 million records of museum objects, archives, and library materials including more than 6 million online images, videos, and audio recordings.
WorldImages
The WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage, and includes all areas of visual imagery.
Open Access Art Image Resources
A guide from the UGA Libraries with links to open access image resources from museums and galleries around the world.
OAIster
A central catalog of open-access digital collections from libraries, museums, and archives worldwide. Use the "Format" option on the search page to limit to images and other visual materials.
Internet Archive: Images
Contains over 3 million images ranging from maps to astronomical imagery to photographs of artwork and more.
