It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENGL 1101: English Composition I (Wayson): Home
Professsor Liz Wayson, Fall 2021
This guide will introduce you to resources to help you research both the "legacy" and "layers" of place. If you have questions or need research help, please just ASK! You can either contact me or the general Reference desk.
Primary sources on the African-American community experience in selected U.S. cities.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina from the early 19th century through the present, this primary source collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community experience through pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African-American culture and identity.
Online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience
African American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Coverage spans life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the NAACP; the Harlem Renaissance; the civil rights movement; political and economic empowerment; and more. Historically significant papers from more than 35 states are included, digitized from the holdings of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. All selections were guided by James Danky, editor of the monumental African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography.
Full-text collection of American newspapers published from 1690 to 1928.
America's Historical Newspapers provides cover-to-cover digital reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers with complete text-searching capabilities. The collection is based on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820," supplemented by newspaper holdings from numerous other institutions and historical societies such as the Boston Athenaeum, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Connecticut State Library, the Library Company of Philadelphia, the Library of Congress, the libraries of universities such as Brown and Harvard, and private collections. The Libraries have access to segment 1 of this collection as well as additional newspapers from South Carolina.
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America: History & Life is the definitive bibliographic citation tool for the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes indexing for 1700 English language historical journals, including selected local history journals. Full-text coverage is provided for nearly 200 journals and over 90 books. The database also includes citations to dissertations and book reviews in American and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the Atlanta Constitution dating back to 1868. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF files. Coverage ends in 1984; more recent articles from the Atlanta Journal and Constitution can be found in LexisNexis Academic (selective content, 1991-).
Georgia history and culture, primary sources, images
The Digital Library of Georgia is a gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources.
Many of the materials are from the holdings of GALILEO member institutions, and the Digital Library of Georgia continues to grow through its partnerships with libraries, archives, museums, government agencies, and allied organizations across the state.
Full text of historical American newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal.
Historical Newspapers Online, from Proquest, contains the full text of many American historical newspapers, including many that are no longer published. Both well-known and obscure publications are included.
Combining Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete, covering over 630 full-text journals, plus full-text books and over 63,000 images.
Art & Architecture Source is a database that combines content from Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete. This new database covers over 630 full-text journals and more than 220 full-text books and includes over 63,000 images as well as art reproduction records.
Collection of digital images for art and architecture studies. Note: To download images, users must register for a free personal login. Searching and viewing images does not require an individual login.
The ARTstor Digital Library offers more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. ARTstor collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, drawing upon 1000 journals, the Avery Index provides bibliographic citations on archeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.
Articles on Environmental Studies, Geography & Sociology
Articles and books related to environmental topics.
Environment Complete offers coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. This database contains more than 1,590,000 records from more than 1,500 domestic and international titles going back to the 1950s (including 959 active core titles) as well as more than 100 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 400 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline. Environment Complete includes over 170 journal titles and almost 100 book titles that are not included in Academic Search or Business Source.
The most comprehensive source for published research in urban studies.
Urban Studies Abstracts covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Topics covered in the database include architecture and urban design, business and employment, crime, education, environment and resource conservation, housing and real estate, politics, government, social and public services, social issues, transportation and communication, trends in urbanization and urban society, urban and regional economics, urban development and redevelopment, urban fiscal and budgetary policy, urban planning, and land use.