Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Germanic Studies: Articles

A guide to finding books and articles in Germanic studies, and to using the UGA Libraries.

GALILEO@UGA

GALILEO@UGA is our gateway to hundreds of databases. Many of them index journal, magazine or newspaper articles.

Search a database to find articles on your topic. Some databases will give you the full text of the articles. Other databases will require you to click the Find It At UGA button button to see if we have the full text online or in print.

Go to the UGA Libraries home page and click on the Research by Subject button:

 

Image of home page with 'Research by Subject' button highlighted

 

You will get a menu of broad subject areas. Choose Languages, LIteratures & Linguistics, then Germanic Studies, where you will see a list of GALILEO Databases relevant to Germanic Studies.

Multi-Search

Search more from 130+ GALILEO databases at once in the Multi-Search box on the Libraries homepage! It also includes the UGA Libraries' holdings in the GIL-Find catalog. 

But remember, there are many databases that are not included in Multi-Search, such as Germanistik and Eppelsheimer-Köttelwesch.

Google Scholar

You can also search Google Scholar for a wide range of articles and books.

If you do choose to use Google Scholar, you can set it up so that it knows you are a UGA student and will link you to the full text of articles we own, even if you are off campus. 

See: How to set up Google Scholar to always connect to full-text from off-campus.

 

 

What is Eppelsheimer-Köttelwesch?

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (commonly referred to as Eppelsheimer-Köttelwesch, for the founder and early editor of the publication) is a very important source.

It indexes books and articles across the fields of Germanic language and literature.


Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft Online is accessible through GALILEO@UGA and covers items published from 1985 onwards. 


Eppelsheimer-Köttelwesch can also be found in print, in the Main Library, on the 2nd floor at Z2231 .B58. We have the print volumes from 1969-2012. 

What is Germanistik?

Germanistik is a very important bibliography of books, journal articles, Festschriften and other publications in German language and literature and related fields. It has a lot of content that you will not find in other databases.


Germanistik Online Datenbank is accessible through GALILEO@UGA


Print volumes of Germanistik are on the 2nd Floor, Main Library at Z7037.G37  We have the print volumes for 1960-2018. 

 

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts focuses on the nature and structure of human speech, research in speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language, spelling, phonetics and the pathology of speech, and hearing. This database provides bibliographic citations. Over 2600 journals from 50 nations are reviewed for inclusion, as well as selected books, book chapters, and dissertations.

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography indexes are critical in literary and language scholarship. They index literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Approximately 45,000 records are added annually. This database is produced by the Modern Language Association. The print edition counterpart to this database began in 1921.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides online access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of important scholarly journals. It contains journal articles about the German language and linguistics, as well as German literature.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Deborah Stanley
Contact:
Reference Department
Main Library
University of Georgia

dstanley@uga.edu
706 542 0656