GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: PHIL 3230: Ethics of Food (Melissa Seymour Fahmy): Food Policy, Justice & Ethics

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Finding Books

GILFind (http://gilfind.uga.edu) - Search our local catalog for books, DVD's, maps, etcetera.

Use Library of Congress Subject Headings linked in GIL-Find to help you discover books and expand your search. Relevant subject headings include:

Food supply > Political aspects.
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (U.S.) (SNAP)
Food > Moral and ethical aspects.
Agricultural and politics.
Food industry and trade > Political aspects.
Food security.
Food > Social aspects.
Genetically modified foods.
Food > Labeling.

Selected Books in the Main & Science Libraries:

Food Justice
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780262072915
The Oxford Handbook of Food, Politics, and Society
Call Number: Main Library 5th Floor HD9000.6 .O94 2015
ISBN: 9780195397772
Feeding Frenzy: The New Politics of Food
Call Number: Main Library 5th Floor HD9000.5 .M356 2013
ISBN: 9781781250341
Just Food: Philosophy, Justice and Food
Call Number: Main Library 5th Floor HD9000.5 .J837 2015
ISBN: 9781783483877
Philosophy Comes to Dinner: Arguments on the Ethics of Eating
Call Number: Science Library 3rd floor TX357 .P525 2016
ISBN: 9780415806831
Genetically Modified Foods: Debating Biotechnology
Call Number: Science Library 3rd Floor TP248.65 .F66 G458 2002
ISBN: 1573929964
Anthropology of Food: The Social Dynamics of Food Security
Call Number: Main Library 2nd Floor GN407 .P67 1999
ISBN: 0745615333

Finding Articles

GALILEO@UGA (http://www.libs.uga.edu/research/) Search databases that index journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, symposia, etcetera; an excellent source for current research. The following GALILEO databases include scholarly publications related to food policy, justice, and ethics:

Public Affairs Index
Public Affairs Index covers magazines, academic journals, trade publications, and conference papers on United States and global public affairs and public policy issues.
Political Science Complete
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.
Philosophers Index
The Philosopher's Index is the major database for academic philosophy. It is a bibliographic database with author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature indexed goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly.
Multisearch
Excellent for multidisciplinary research; Search approximately 130 GALILEO databases plus the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog to find full-text articles, books and more.

Key Journals:

Food Security
Food Policy
Food Ethics
Journal of Bioethical Inquiry
Sustainability
Global Food Security
Journal of Agricultural and Environmental Ethics

Data Sources

Food Policy Resources (Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future)
Food policy work–and progress–is occurring across the U.S. and Canada at many levels of government. Use this tool to browse for different types of resources, including academic literature, how-to guides, strategic plans, aimed at all levels of government.
SNAP Data System (USDA)
From the USDA Economic Research Service, This data set provides time-series data on State- and county-level estimates of Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) participation and benefit levels, combined with area estimates of total population, the number of persons in poverty, and selected socio-demographic characteristics of the population
FAO Statistics
Extensive data and analysis collected by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations (FAO). Browse, download, compare, search, and analyze data on food production, trade, security, emissions, and much more.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary provides access to the full text of publications from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, a group of major developed countries. Contains extensive statistical data especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports. Search data by theme, including agriculture & food, energy, environment, nutrition & health, and more.
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
Find and download agricultural statistics for every state and county in the United States. Includes data on environmental impact, livestock, crops and plants, prices, demographics, and much more.
National Agricultural Library Life Cycle Assessment Commons
Hosted by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)’s National Agricultural Library (NAL), the Life Cycle Assessment Commons (LCA Commons) is a collaboration among federal agencies, private industry, and academic researchers. The USDA LCA Commons is a repository for data, tools, and resources that support life cycle assessment for U.S. agricultural production and agriculturally derived products.