GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: PHIL 3230: Ethics of Food (Melissa Seymour Fahmy): Agriculture & Food Systems

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Finding Books

GILFind (http://gilfind.uga.edu) - Search our local catalog for books, DVD's, maps, etcetera.

Use Library of Congress Subject Headings linked in GIL-Find to help you discover books and expand your search. For books related to agriculture and food systems, see:

Sustainable agriculture
Food supply
Agriculture > Moral and ethical aspects
Agricultural systems.
Animal industry > Moral and ethical aspects.
Meat industry and trade
Factory farms
Food industry and trade > Moral and ethical aspects.

Selected Books in the Main & Science Libraries:

Ethical Issues in Food and Agriculture by Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Call Number: Main Library 5th Floor HD9000.5 .E74 2001
ISBN: 9251045593
Agriculture's Ethical Horizon
Call Number: Main Library 6th Floor BJ52.5 .Z56 2006
ISBN: 0123705118
The Moral Complexities of Eating Meat
Call Number: Science Library 3rd Floor TX373 .M67 2016
ISBN: 0199353905
The Chain: Farm, Factory, and the Fate of Our Food
Call Number: Main Library 5th Floor HD9415 .G46 2014
ISBN: 9780062288752
Food
Call Number: Main Library 5th Floor HD9000.5 .C545 2016
ISBN: 9781509500796

Finding Articles

GALILEO@UGA (http://www.libs.uga.edu/research/)* Search databases that index journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, symposia, etc.; excellent source for current research. The following GALILEO databases include scholarly publications related to agriculture and food systems:

Food Science Source
Full-text database for the food industry.
CAB Abstracts
Index to research on agriculture, forestry and allied life sciences.
Agricola
Index to publications on all aspects of agriculture and agricultural research.
Multisearch
Excellent for multidisciplinary research; Search approximately 130 GALILEO databases plus the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog to find full-text articles, books and more.

*Tip: select "Choose Databases" above the search box to broaden search to include CAB and Agricola for more agricultural resources.

Key Journals:

Food security
Journal of Agricultural Ethics
Sustainability
Journal of Agricultural and Environmental Ethics
Agriculture and Human Values

Data Sources

FAO Statistics
Extensive data and analysis collected by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations (FAO). Browse, download, compare, search, and analyze data on food production, trade, security, emissions, and much more.
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
Find and download agricultural statistics for every state and county in the United States. Includes data on environmental impact, livestock, crops and plants, prices, demographics, and much more.
National Agricultural Library Life Cycle Assessment Commons
Hosted by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)’s National Agricultural Library (NAL), the Life Cycle Assessment Commons (LCA Commons) is a collaboration among federal agencies, private industry, and academic researchers. The USDA LCA Commons is a repository for data, tools, and resources that support life cycle assessment for U.S. agricultural production and agriculturally derived products.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary provides access to the full text of publications from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, a group of major developed countries. Contains extensive statistical data especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports. Search data by theme, including agriculture & food, energy, environment, nutrition & health, and more.