GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: PHIL 3230: Ethics of Food (Melissa Seymour Fahmy): Environment & Climate

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Finding Books

GILFind (http://gilfind.uga.edu) - Search our local catalog for books, DVD's, maps, etcetera.

Use Library of Congress Subject Headings linked in GIL-Find to help you discover books and expand your search. Books related to food, environment, and climate:

Crops and water
Livestock > Environmental aspects.
Crops and climate.
Food industry and trade > Environmental aspects.
Agricultural ecology
Meat industry and trade > Environmental aspects.
Agriculture > Environmental aspects.

Selected Books in the Main & Science Libraries:

Eating Earth: Environmental Ethics and Dietary Choice
Call Number: Science Library 3rd Floor TD195.F57 K46 2015
ISBN: 9780199391844
Cowed: The Hidden Impact of 93 Million Cows On America's Health, Economy, Politics, Culture, and Environment
Call Number: Science Library 4th Floor SF196.U5 H39 2015
ISBN: 9780393239942
The Ecological Hoofprint: The Global Burden of Industrial Livestock
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781780320984
Print Book: Science Library 4th Floor SF140.E25 W45 2013
Food and Environment: The Quest for a Sustainable Future
Call Number: Science Library 3rd Floor TD195.F57 .I58 2011
ISBN: 9781845645540
Food Utopias: Reimagining Citizenship, Ethics and Community
Call Number: Main Library 2nd Floor GN407 .F687 2015
ISBN: 9781138788497
Resilient Agriculture: Cultivating Food Systems for a Changing Climate.
Call Number: Science Library 4th Floor S494.5.S86 L45 2015
ISBN: 9780865717749

Finding Articles

GALILEO@UGA (http://www.libs.uga.edu/research/) Search databases that index journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, symposia, etc; an excellent source for current research. The following GALILEO databases include scholarly publications related to food and the environment:

Environment Complete
Articles and books related to environmental topics, such agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and more.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Comprehensive research on the environmental sciences, drawing from scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications. Covers agricultural biotechnology, air quality, aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering,environmental impact statements (U.S.), and hazardous waste.
Environmental Impact Statements
Summaries of key issues, consequences, legal mandates.
Multisearch
Excellent for multidisciplinary research; Search approximately 130 GALILEO databases plus the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog to find full-text articles, books and more.

Key Journals:

Ethics & the Environment
Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment
Sustainability
Environmental Ethics
Journal of Agricultural and Environmental Ethics
Journal of Soil and Water Conservation

Data Sources

Water Footprint Network
Publishes reports and data sets of footprint of different crops, products, etc. WaterStat (http://waterfootprint.org/en/resources/water-footprint-statistics/) includes data on the water footprints of crops and derived crop products.
EPA : Climate Impacts on Agriculture & Food Supply
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency report on climate change, agriculture and food supply includes links to data sources and other relevant statistics.
World Energy Council Data
An array of information sources on world energy. The Council is the UN-accredited global energy body, representing the entire energy spectrum, with more than 3000 member organisations located in over 90 countries and drawn from governments, private and state corporations, academia, NGOs and energy-related stakeholders.
FAO Statistics
Extensive data and analysis collected by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations (FAO). Browse, download, compare, search, and analyze data on food production, trade, security, emissions, and much more.
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
Find and download agricultural statistics for every state and county in the United States. Includes data on environmental impact, livestock, crops and plants, prices, demographics, and much more.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary provides access to the full text of publications from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, a group of major developed countries. Contains extensive statistical data especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports. Search data by theme, including agriculture & food, energy, environment, nutrition & health, and more.