Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GILFind (http://gilfind.uga.edu) - Search our local catalog for books, DVD's, maps, etcetera.
Use Library of Congress Subject Headings linked in GIL-Find to help you discover books and expand your search. For books related to nutrition, health, and food choices, see:
- Nutrition policy > United States.
- Obesity > Social aspects.
- Food consumption > Social aspects.
- Consumption (Economics) > Moral and ethical aspects.
- Food preferences.
- Food Assistance.
- Junk food.
- Convenience foods.
Selected Books in the Main & Science Libraries:
Weighing In: Obesity, Food Justice, and the Limits of Capitalism
Call Number: Science Library 4th Floor RA645.O23 G88 2011
Food Waste: Home Consumption, Material Culture and Everyday Life
Call Number: Main Library 2nd Floor GN407 .E83 2014
The Consuming Geographies of Food: Diet, Food Deserts and Obesity
Call Number: Science Library TX357 .S46 2014
Food Culture, Consumption and Society
Call Number: Main Library 2nd Floor GN407 .C67 2015
Ethical Consumption: A Critical Introduction
Call Number: Main Library 5th Floor HB835 .E84 2011
Social Justice and the Urban Obesity Crisis
Call Number: Science Library 4th Floor RA645.O23 D45 2013
GALILEO@UGA (http://www.libs.uga.edu/research/) Search databases that index journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, symposia, etcetera; an excellent source for current research. The following GALILEO databases include scholarly publications related to nutrition, health, and food choices:
Index and abstracts of journal articles in the health sciences with links to full text.
- Global Health
Public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene.
- Food Science Source
Full-text database for the food industry.
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Excellent for multidisciplinary research; Search approximately 130 GALILEO databases plus the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog to find full-text articles, books and more.
- Food security
- Agriculture and Human Values
- Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Community Development
- Gastronomica : the journal of food and culture (University of California)
- Agriculture and Food Security
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
Provides statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
Feeding America: Food Insecurity Data
Uses current population data, Bureau of Labor statistics and USDA data to map hunger across America.
Center for Nutrition Policy & Promotion (USDA)
The USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion works to improve the health and well-being of Americans by developing and promoting dietary guidance that links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers.
Extensive data and analysis collected by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations (FAO). Browse, download, compare, search, and analyze data on food production, trade, security, emissions, and much more.
World Health Organization
Find global health data via the WHO Global Health Observatory.