Research Assistance: A Quick Reference

⚠️ If you encounter problems or technical errors with online resources, create a ticket with the Elibrary Help Desk.

This guide to Getting Full Text Online includes tips for finding articles in full-text. 

• Multi-Search and Google Scholar are great places to start searching by journal article title or keyword.
• Databases by Subject: These guides list databases grouped by research area, and they often include specialized databases that aren't in Multi-Search or Google Scholar. 
• Databases A-Z: A complete list of over 1,000 databases.

For articles not owned by UGA (or that are only available in print), patrons can Request a PDF to have the article delivered to their inbox.

Check if the UGA Libraries own the book:

• Start by searching GIL-Find, the UGA Libraries' catalog for both print and e-books.
• Use the E-Books Guide to find and troubleshoot access to our e-books.
  • Note that licensing agreements with vendors can change over time, and we may lose access to e-books previously held in our collection. Digital copies of books can't be borrowed from other institutions, but we can usually get a print copy for patrons using the options below.

If UGA doesn't own the book:

When the UGA Libraries don’t have an item needed by patron (either because it’s already checked out or lost, etc.), you can guide patrons to options such as:

• GIL Express: Borrow books from other USG libraries. (Delivery time: 4-5 days)
• Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Borrow books and other items from libraries around the world. (Delivery time: ~8 days)
• Request the item for purchase by the UGA Libraries. (Delivery time varies.)

Other common questions about books:

• Do you have textbooks for UGA classes?
• Does the library have any leisure books? I want to read something for fun. 
• Do you have children's books? 

The following pages contain information for how to access other common library resources.

• Theses and Dissertations: Publications from graduate students 
• Audiovisual Resources: Streaming video and requesting DVD's
• Newspapers: Periodicals in print and online
• Genealogy Resources: Navigating historic newspapers and obituaries
  • How can I find historic Georgia newspaper articles and genealogy resources?: Help visitors access newspapers remotely and consult with non-library researchers for more in-depth assistance