Encyclopedic resource covering all aspects of music history. Ensure all browsers are set to enable cookies. Limited to 8 concurrent users. Please log out of Oxford Music Online when finished.
Oxford Music Online, 2nd edition, (formerly Grove Music Online) is a scholarly encyclopedia of music including biographies of composers, performers and writers on music, as well as articles on styles, terms, genre, concepts, acoustics, notation, and instruments, their makers and performance practice. Coverage ranges from classical music to ancient music, opera, church music, popular music, light music, jazz, and world musics from many regions, countries and cities. Articles are accompanied by links to digital images, digital sound and related Internet sites.
International Index to Music Periodicals covers nearly all aspects of music from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. It provides bibliographic citations from nearly 400 journals published in 20 countries. It also indexes the feature music articles and obituaries that appear in The New York Times and The Washington Post.
Index and abstracts of articles, books, dissertations, conferences, and other literature on music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature covers international music literature that encompasses historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, dance, and music therapy. Also covered are other fields as they related to music. The database includes all formats of scholarly works: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, conference proceedings, and more.
The RILM database contains more than 250,000 citations to music literature. An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 202 languages, RILM Abstracts includes original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, abstracts in English, and author, title, journal, and subject indexes. RILM stands for Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale.
Full text scholarly journals with back issues from the date of first publication. Also includes some e-books.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
All Music Databases
Henle Digital Library: Trial access through Nov. 15
Try the Henle Score App and access the digital library of urtext editions on your phone or tablet.
Create a member account at https://www.henle-library.com/en/campusedition/ Scroll down to the bottom of the page to the form that says "Create Your Account." This must be done from within the institution’s IP range (either on-site or via a proxy). You should NOT create your account directly from the Henle Library App. Please register with your institutional e-mail-address and a secure password (no special characters) you will receive an email for verification. Please confirm the registration.
Download our App at the app store of your device. Remember our App is designed for mobile use on tablet computers, so it is available for for iPads and iPhones (iOS 13 and higher), Mac computers that contain the Apple silicon chip (M1 and M2), Android tablets and smartphones (Android 5.0 and higher) as well as on Chromebooks. Moreover, you can use the app on Windows 11 computers (using the Windows subsystem for Android and the Amazon App store) and Microsoft Surface tablets (Windows 11).
Login to the Henle Library App with your registered e-mail-address and password. Enjoy the comprehensive range of works and making music.