FIND A NEWSPAPER BY TITLE
For online coverage through UGA subscriptions:
Thousands of newspapers are available full-text online through UGA Libraries subscription databases, with both current and historical coverage. Search for the newspaper title in the Find e-Journal by Title search tool to see links to online databases that provide full-text articles. The display also indicates the specific years of full-text coverage available from each database.
For newspapers on microfilm at UGA:
To find newspapers available on microfilm at the UGA Libraries, search the Unified Newspaper Database or search the GIL catalog by title. Microfilm is located in the basement of the Main Library and is organized by call number. The UGA Libraries do not retain paper issues of newspapers. Also, please note that we may not have all the issues of a newspaper for a given year – the GIL catalog will provide the most detailed list of specific issues available on microfilm.
Also available is a guide to African-American Newspapers on Microfilm at the UGA Libraries. This guide provides a listing of all African-American newspapers held on microfilm at the University of Georgia Libraries. Includes listings by title, state, and chronologically.
Look for free digitized historical newspapers online:
Search NewspaperCat (Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers) by title or location.
Don't know a title?
FIND NEWSPAPER ARTICLES ON A TOPIC
Current or Recent News
You can search these large databases by keyword to find full-text news articles from the past few decades on a specific topic.
The UGA Libraries offer access to many online databases that provide full-text articles from historical newspapers.
We also have print volumes indexing historical newspapers, allowing you to look up a keyword or subject and determine on what specific dates articles were published relating to that subject. Armed with the date and page number, you can then find the call number for the microfilm of the newspaper (by looking in the UGA Unified Newspaper Database or GIL catalog) and go to the microfilm to find the relevant article.
FIND INFORMATION ABOUT NEWSPAPERS
Looking for information about a newspaper, its circulation, history, or parent company? Try the following database:
Not finding the article you want? Search tip — if you saw an article on a newspaper website, the headline (title) of the article might be different in a newspaper database from the headline displayed on the newspaper's website. If searching by headline does not find any matches, try searching for some keywords that describe the content of the article.
For additional help, please see the Research Help and Tips page or contact Eric Griffith at firstname.lastname@example.org