JRMC 8000: Proseminar in Mass Communication (Assmann): Home

New to UGA or to graduate-level studies? Once you've set up your library account, we suggest you familiarize yourself with our home page and learn the name of your librarian. Here are some essential resources.

Journal Articles

• MultiSearch - Search a vast number of journal and book citations taken from multiple databases, including GIL, the UGA Libraries book catalog. Excellent for interdisciplinary research.
• GALILEO@UGA - Choose from 400+ article databases in all areas of study.
• Journal Locator - Check for UGA access when you have a citation to a specific article.
• BrowZine - Read recent journal articles and be alerted to newly-published issues. Download the app and sync it with the web version. See our guide.
• Citation alerts - Set up recurring automated searches in some databases and receive notification of newly-added items.
• Request a PDF - Request a scan of an article or book chapter. If we own it, we will scan it for you within 1-3 working days. If we do not own it, Interlibrary Loan will work to get a scan from another library. This usually takes 1-3 days, but may take longer depending on availability. You do not need to determine whether we own the item. 

Books

• GIL library catalog - Find books, ebooks, videos, etc. owned by the library. Most books may be checked out by graduate students for 125 days, renewed online, and recalled from other users. Borrow books from other Georgia public higher educational institutions through GIL Express (delivery in 3-5 days) to borrow items.
• WorldCat  - Extend your research using this combined library catalog. Find books at thousands of libraries across the country and around the world. Borrow them using Interlibrary Loan.
• Suggest a Purchase - Suggest that the library purchase a book that we do not currently own.

Dissertations

• ScholarWorksUGA - Find UGA theses and dissertations dating back to 1999 and a growing collection of research from campus institutes and departments. For print UGA dissertations before 1999, search the GIL Catalog. Read more about dissertations at UGA Libraries.
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (formerly Dissertation Abstracts) - Find citations to United States dissertations from the 19th century to the present. If not available through us, borrow them using Interlibrary Loan.

Publishing and Grants

• Citation Searching - Has your paper been cited? Document the impact of your work.
• Scholarly Publishing & Communication - Publishing, copyright, open access, data archiving, etc.
• UGA Libraries' Graduate Student Open Access Publishing Fund - The UGA Libraries support the Open Access publishing endeavors of graduate students with payment of their Article Processing Charge (APC) for their accepted manuscript.
• Endnote & Refworks - Manage your bibliographic citations and generate bibliographies in various styles.
• Grant Funding
• ORCID@UGA - Your ORCID ID is a persistent and unique digital identifier that distinguishes your research identity from others. ORCID also provides you with a profile that you can maintain throughout your professional life.

Library Services

• Study carrels - Need space in the library? Working with lots of books you don't want to carry around?
• Faculty Authorization - Working with a faculty member? Need to check out books or charge photocopies to their account?
• Data Services: Need social science data? Get help with U.S. Census, statistical and polling data.