Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
All Library Hours

Library Resources for Talking Dog Advertising & PR Agency: Home

Research sources for UGA's premier advertising & PR agency.

Additional LibGuides

Qualtrics at UGA

Qualtrics, a web-based survey tool, is offered free to UGA students, faculty, and staff. Qualtrics allows students, faculty, and staff to easily design and implement their own UGA-branded surveys, as well as invite survey participants and review survey results. Users can choose from a library with different question types, remind participants to take a survey, and view reports in a variety of formats.

Qualtrics is free for all UGA students, faculty, and staff, but users must contact the EITS Help Desk to request an account.

Digital Humanites Lab

Location: 300 Main Library

Hours: 8-5:30 Monday-Friday, unless the space is reserved for a class.

The Willson Center Digital Humanities Lab, founded with support from the UGA Libraries and the Willson Center for Humanities & Arts, is a space designed for collaboration and innovation in the Digital Humanities. Our flexible instruction space is outfitted with moveable furniture and soft seating in addition to our two large displays and 20 computers (10 desktops and 10 laptops). Each computer is equipped with Digital Humanities specific software including Gephi, Mallet, and the Adobe Creative Suite. See Software page for a full list.

In addition to instruction we also offer consultation on digital project development, grant writing, and data management. The Lab is also the central hub for the DIGI undergraduate certificate in Digital Humanities.

New York Times & Wall Street Journal Access

UGA Faculty, staff, and students now enjoy full digital access to the New York Times via a free online subscription through the UGA Libraries. The subscription also includes access to The Athletic, the online sporting news publication owned by the publisher. Register for your New York Times account at this link, by choosing University of Georgia - Athens, GA from the drop-down menu and entering your UGA email address.

Also, the Libraries provides free access to the Wall Street Journal, including WSJ.com as well as WSJ apps, WSJ+, and subscriber-only podcasts and videos. Use this link to create an account using your UGA email address.

Library Databases for Strategy & Planning

Advertising Insights: (now called Vivix 360) Advertising Insights is an interactive database containing the most recent 8+ years of advertising expenditures by a wide range of U.S. companies. The data extends to brands and individual products. Media types range across traditional print and broadcast media as well as several online categories. The data can be summarized for more than two hundred geographic markets.

MRISimmons: Consumer survey data on product buying behavior and media habits of about 25,000 adults, 18 years of age and over. Data is about 3 years old. Crosstabs offers the capability to cross-tabulate demographic characteristics with types or brands of products, media preferences, and consumer attitudes. Brand Catalyst (replacing MRI University Reporter) displays the index and reach values for a pre-formatted range of attitude statements, top brand and media preferences, and demographics for every item / response in the survey. Please note: This database is limited to 50 concurrent users.

Mintel: Provides in-depth market research reports on a wide range of U.S. and European consumer products, including food/drink, clothing, beauty, electronics, automobiles, etc. Reports are typically 100 pages long and cover consumer demographics, market size, market shares, trends/forecasts, segmentation, and distribution channels, among other topics. About 120 reports are added annually.

Statista: A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more. The Global Consumer Survey includes data sets for different countries, topics, and target groups.

Library Database for Media Planning & Costs

SRDS Media Solutions:

SRDS Media Solutions provides extensive descriptions of and advertising rates for thousands of print and broadcast media outlets. It contains data from eight SRDS publications:

  • Business Publication Advertising Source
  • Consumer Magazine Advertising Source
  • Direct Marketing List Source
  • Interactive Advertising Source
  • Newspaper Advertising Source
  • Radio Advertising Source
  • TV & Cable Source
  • Print Media Production Source

Media Solutions enables identification of advertising sources for specific geographic markets or subject categories. It offers online links to the media outlets that it lists. Database provider: Standard Rate and Data Service

UGA vLab

The University of Georgia's virtual computer lab, called vLab, allows anyone with a MyID to access lab software anywhere, anytime via a web browser on their devices. The vLab gives access to a computer lab environment with applications to use on work and personal devices, regardless if you are on or off campus. It's like going to a computer lab without leaving your residence hall or home.

vLab desktop thumbnailTo get started, visit vlab.uga.edu and enter your UGA MyID and password. Once logged in to the vLab, students can use the virtual desktop to access the fully functional applications.

If you are using a phone or tablet to access vLab, you may have to download Citrix Workspace, which is free. 

The applications available in the vLab and the wallpaper design are the same as those in the Miller Learning Center (MLC).

If you are accessing vLab from a non-lab device, you’ll need to use ArchPass, UGA’s phone-based two-step login solution, powered by Duo. Non-lab devices include personal laptops, phones, classroom podiums, iMac and Mac Pro machines at the MLC and computer work stations

You will be prompted to enroll a device in ArchPass the first time you use vLab. You can also enroll in ArchPass at archpass.uga.edu.

Your Librarians

Profile Photo
Social Science & Humanities Team ‎

Chat with a Librarian

Talking Dog Resources

Brandwatch With Brandwatch, brands and agencies can adapt and thrive in today's fast-moving digital world by making smarter decisions and executing data-driven social strategies at every customer touchpoint.

Cannes Lions Since its first outing in 1954, the Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity has been bringing the creative communications industry together every year at its one-of-a-kind event in Cannes to learn, network and celebrate.

Loomly is the Brand Success Platform that empowers marketing teams to grow successful brands online through collaboration, publishing & analytics features.

Meltwater The Meltwater platform is the most comprehensive media monitoring solution in the industry. Meltwater's software allows PR and marketing professionals to streamline their media monitoring, reporting, influencer outreach, and social engagement