It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Entertainment & Media Studies: GALILEO Databases
A guide to recommended UGA Libraries and suggested resources for Entertainment & Media Studies research.
Find popular and scholarly articles on communication and mass media studies, including some full text.
Communication & Mass Media Complete is an index to literature relating to communication and mass media studies, including some full text. The database is the result of the merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies - CommSearch, formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), and Mass Media Articles Index, formerly produced by Penn State University. In addition to the content of these two databases, CMMC offers full text for over 160 major communication and mass media journals that were not previously covered by CommSearch or Mass Media Articles Index. In total, more than 285 journals will be indexed and abstracted in their entirety in CMMI, while approximately 100 more journals will be indexed selectively.
Articles and reviews of films and television programs.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text provides scholarly journal and magazine articles, film and television reviews, and selected book chapters on film and television criticism, history, theory, production, cinematography, and technological innovations.
Historical collection of film and television industry magazines
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive has the full text of ten major U.S. and U.K. trade magazines in film and television published between 1911-2000. UGA has access to the first "Cinema, Film, and Television Collection" with the following magazines: American Film (US, 1975-1992) Boxoffice (US, 1920-2000) Broadcasting (US, 1931-2000) Broadcast (UK, 1960-2000) Contrast (UK, 1961-1965) Film Journal International (US, 1934-2000) Film Weekly (UK, 1928-1939) Picturegoer (UK, 1911-1960) Screen International (UK, 1975-2000) Variety (US, 1905-2000)
Over 7,000 educational films and newsreels online.
Films on Demand offers streaming video for over 7,000 educational films in the arts & humanities, social sciences, business & economics, health & medicine, and science & mathematics. Film producers include Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, BBC, major U.S. commercial networks, Cambridge Educational, The Film Board of Canada, Open University,the Clio Awards, and many more. Also included is a collection of United Newsreels which includes an additional 260 titles. Films are broken into segments for easy viewing.
Kanopy is a streaming video platform with high-quality feature films, documentaries, and educational films. PLEASE NOTE: most Kanopy licenses last one year. If you plan to use a film for a class, check with the Media Department to confirm that the film will still be under license on the date needed.
A small portion of of Kanopy?s videos are available immediately to UGA Libraries users. Other videos may be available upon request. If you select a film not already rented by UGA, you will be directed to a brief request form where you can explain why you need the film. The Libraries will strive to meet requests for educational or research use within 24 hours (Monday - Friday).
PLEASE NOTE that most Kanopy licenses expire after one year. If you plan to use a film for a class, check with the Media Department to confirm that the film will still be under license on the date needed.