Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

JRMC 8020: Public Opinion

Created for JRMC8020, but useful as an interdisciplinary guide to public opinion and polling, with an emphasis on method and evaluation.

Books

Public Opinion

This popular textbook provides a comprehensive, accessible introduction to public opinion in the United States and describes how public opinion data are collected, how they are used, and the role they play in the U.S. political system. Bardes and Oldendick introduce students to the history of polling and explain the factors a good consumer of polls should know in order to evaluate public opinion data.

The Oxford Handbook of Polling and Survey Methods

The methodologies used to study public opinion are now in flux. The primary polling method of the last half-century, the telephone survey, is rapidly becoming obsolete as a data collection method. At the same time, new methods of contacting potential respondents and obtaining their response are appearing, providing a variety of options for scholars and practitioners. The Oxford Handbook on Polling and Survey Methods brings together a unique mixture of academics and practitioners, from various backgrounds, academic disciplines, and experiences.

Survey Questions, Design of

Immediately after George Gallup published his first opinion poll in the United States during the Second World War, a discussion started about the quality of the questions for capturing the opinions one wanted to measure. This is not surprising because a survey question has many different aspects, and as this entry will show, all can influence the answers obtained. In experiments with various forms of questions, it became clear that one could get rather different answers based on the characteristics of the questions. Later discussions considered whether more precise information concerning opinions could be obtained through increasing the number of answer categories or even using continuous scales...

The SAGE Handbook of Survey Development and Application

The SAGE Handbook of Survey Development and Application not only covers the classic and innovational skills and approaches involved at every step of the survey research process, but also centres itself around applied, how-to guidance to aid readers in best practice.Containing over 120 tables and figures, checklists and tutorial guides. This handbook serves as a touchstone for a variety of fields such as Organizational Behavior, Industrial & Organizational Psychology, Management, Psychology, Educational Research, Marketing, Public Policy, and others.

The Routledge Handbook of Elections, Voting Behavior and Public Opinion

The Routledge Handbook of Elections, Voting Behavior and Public Opinion is an authoritative and key reference text for students, academics and researchers engaged in the study of electoral research, public opinion and voting behavior.

Finding Books

https://www.libs.uga.edu/

  • ​Once you have searched the Catalog and found a book that you'd like:
    • eBook - access the book online by clicking " Online Access " 
    • in-print Book - email or write down the Call Number and click on the " Map it " pin tool to locate the item.

 

  • The " Map it " pin indicates the item location on the map and provides directions to find the item in the building.