Search the recommended databases below to find articles related to your topic from a wide variety of journals. Because Disability Studies is interdisciplinary by nature, there is no single database for locating Disability Studies materials. A broad range of useful databases for research are provided by the UGA Libraries.
Multidisciplinary Databases
Multidisciplinary databases search broadly for sources across multiple subject areas.
Multi-Search
The UGA Libraries Multi-Search tool enables you to search an enormous array of resources all at once. Multi-Search covers more than 175 databases, the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog, and the Digital Library of Georgia for full-text articles, books, and much more in a single streamlined search!
You can use the MultiSearch on the Libraries' homepage or go directly to https://libs.uga.edu/multisearch
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, including full-text access to more than 12 million journal articles from over 2,600 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides historical coverage beginning with the journal's first issue, but for the majority of journals in the JSTOR archive, the most recent 3 to 5 years are not available.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content with full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies. Currently, Project MUSE has over 700 journals from 125 publishers and offers nearly 70,000 books from more than 140 presses.
Subject-Specific Databases
Subject-specific databases focus on the scholarly literature of a particular discipline. Choose a subject database from the list below to search for disability-related articles from journals in that field.
ANTHROPOLOGY
Anthropology Plus
ART AND ARCHITECTURE
Art & Architecture Source
CHILD AND FAMILY STUDIES
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
COMMUNICATION AND MEDIA
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Film and Television Literature Index
EDUCATION
Education Research Complete
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
GENDER STUDIES
GenderWatch
LGBTQ+ Source
Women’s Studies International
HISTORY
America: History & Life (history of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present)
Historical Abstracts (history of the world excluding the U.S. and Canada from 1450 to the present)
LITERARY AND LANGUAGE STUDIES
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
Literature Resource Center
MEDICINE, BIOLOGY, AND HEALTH
BioMed Central
BIOSIS
PubMed
Global Health
POLITICS, PUBLIC AFFAIRS, AND LAW
Political Science Complete
Public Affairs Index
Legal Source
Human Rights Documents
PSYCHOLOGY
PsycINFO
PsycARTICLES
RELIGION AND PHILOSOPHY
Religion & Philosophy Collection
SOCIAL WORK
Social Services Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts
SOCIOLOGY
SocINDEX
Sociological Abstracts
SPORTS, PHYSICAL EDUCATION, AND EXERCISE
SPORTDiscus
