For online full-text newspaper articles through UGA subscriptions:
Thousands of newspapers are available full-text online through UGA Libraries database subscriptions, with both current and historical coverage. To find a specific newspaper, search for the newspaper title in the Find Journal by Title search tool, which will show you links to online databases that provide full-text articles. The display also indicates the specific years of full-text coverage available from each database.
For newspapers on microfilm at UGA:
You can search the Unified Newspaper Database or use the Find Journal by Title search tool to find newspapers available on microfilm at the UGA Libraries. A large collection of newspapers on microfilm is located in the basement of the UGA Main Library, organized by call number.
The Unified Newspaper Database offers convenient search features that let you identify newspapers from a particular city, county, or time period. Please note that we may not have all the issues of a newspaper for a particular year – the Find Journal by Title search tool will provide the most detailed list of specific issues available on microfilm, if there are some issues missing. The UGA Libraries do not retain paper issues of newspapers.
Another useful resource is our guide to African-American Newspapers on Microfilm at the UGA Libraries which includes listings by title, by state, and chronologically.
Look for free digitized historical newspapers online:
Search NewspaperCat (Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers) by title or location.
Don't know a specific newspaper title?
- The holdings list of the Georgia Newspaper Project lists GA newspaper titles by city or county, and can be useful for tracing title changes as local papers combined.
- The Unified Newspaper Database is searchable by location. Enter a city, county, or state to view a list of newspapers available on microfilm.
- Try a keyword search in our GIL library catalog for the location name and "newspapers".
