1. How do I fix the citation when I have an organizational name as author?
In your EndNote library, open the reference in Edit view and add a comma after the entry in the author field to differentiate the organizational name from a person. Save the reference. When in Word, select Update Citations and Bibliography.
2. I cannot directly import a citation into EndNote on my MacIntosh computer.
Use Firefox or Chrome rather than Safari.
3. Whenever I insert page numbers (or open a document that has page numbers) it automatically enters this formula: {page \* MERGEFORMAT}.
Go to the File tab, then to options, then to advanced options, before clicking Show Document Content, Unselect the box labeled "Show field codes instead of their values"
3. Changes I make to Citations and the bibliography in my Word document get overwritten by EndNote.
Manually typed changes will be lost when you close out of your document. Never manually edit citations or your reference list - it can cause complications with your library and document. To edit in-text citations you must use "Edit & Manage Citations" in the Toolbar.
- If you are entering a prefix or suffix, you will need to include any spaces or punctuation. EndNote only displays text (or spaces) entered in these boxes. If you are adding page numbers, enter numerical values only (no 'p' or commas).
If the edits you need to make are not possible through the 'Edit Citations' tool or by modifying the output style, make a backup of the document that contains the EndNote coding, then ''Convert to Plain Text''. The location of the command may differ in Mac or PC toolbars. Even though the option is called plain text, style formats, such as italics, will not be removed. This should only be attempted when you are finished working with EndNote. Removing the field codes cuts the link between EndNote and Word, so subsequent adding or removing citations will not update your bibliography.
4. I have changed the output style in EndNote, but the style in my paper reverts to Annotated or another style I didn't choose.
The style set in the EndNote menu within the Word document is always the stye that will be used by Word. Change it in the Word toolbar.
6. How do I change the spacing or font in my bibliography?
Use the Configure Bibliography panel. Select the 'Layout' tab and make the desired changes. The location may vary for Macs vs PCs
7. How can I create chapter bibliographies?
For chapter bibliographies to appear, first insert section breaks as you like them in Word. Each section will be a chapter. Then make changes to the Style being used by editing it in EndNote output styles. Click to go
to the Clarivate site for detailed instructions.
8. My journal names are not coming out as capitalized?
If the database sends EndNote the name of the journal in sentence case rather than title case, editing the record in EndNote will not stop the journal appearing with the wrong capitalization in your Word document. You can either fix this in the Library record and select Update Bibliography, or change the Journal Terms List.
Library tab > Open Term Lists > Journal Terms List > Highlight the journal name > Edit Term... > Edit the journal name in the top box (Full Journal:) > OK > Close
9. How do I make smart quotation marks in my EndNote formatted reference list?
Edit the record in your your EndNote Library using smart quotes, and then use "Update Citations." If this does not fix it, you can edit once you are done formatting your document. Go to #3 above and look at "If the edits you need to make are not possible through the 'Edit Citations'..."
