Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film Studies: Articles & Reviews

Finding Journals

When you already have the complete reference to an article (title, author, journal title, date), search the journal title in GIL Find to see if UGA owns it online or in hard copy.

Can't get it at UGA? See your options for getting the article from another library.

Finding Articles & Reviews

Scholarly Articles

Multi-Search: A combined search of GIL and about 90 GALILEO databases including the Film & Television Literature Index, the MLA International Bibliography, and several newspaper and popular magazine databases. This guide includes instructions on setting up personal alerts from Multi-Search for new journal issues, articles on a topic, or articles by an author.

   If Multi-Search brings back too many results, try searching these databases separately:

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text: Major source for reviews and criticism from 1972 to present.

MLA International Bibliography, 1926-present: The major source for locating scholarly articles and book chapters in literature, drama, and film. The MLA DIrectory of Periodicals is also searchable through this database.

Communication & Mass Media Complete: Articles in communication and mass media studies, including film studies.

JSTOR: A collection of full-text scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. By going to the database itself instead of Multi-Search, you can search through the full-text of the article. Coverage begins with the journal's first issue, and JSTOR's "rolling wall" means the past 3-5 years are usually not available.

Newspapers

Global Newsstream: Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S.and around the world.

Access World News: Good coverage of U.S. local and regional newspapers.

Historical Research:

Entertainment Industry Magazine ArchiveEntertainment Industry Magazine Archive has the full text of ten major U.S. and U.K. trade magazines in film and television published between 1911-2000. UGA has access to the first "Cinema, Film, and Television Collection" which includes Variety, Boxoffice, Broadcasting, and others

New York Times Historical Full Text, 1856-2009: Searchable full scans of the newspaper; excellent for book reviews, interviews with authors, and primary accounts of historical events. UGA also has similar databases for the Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), Christian Science Monitor (1908-99), Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), and Washington Post (1877-1996). Search all five at once in Historical Newspapers Online.

Other historic Georgia newspapers have been digitized by the Digital Library of Georgia.

Times Digital Archive, 1785-2011: Searchable full scans of the London Times.

Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982: The major index to mainsteam magazines in the U.S. during the 20th century.

Media History Digital Library: Out of copyright digitized periodicals from the early years of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Includes magazines such as Variety (1905-1954), Photoplay (1914-1943), Journal of the Society of Motion Picture Engineers (1930-1952), International Projectionist (1933-1965), and many more. Use their Lantern search for the most advanced search options.

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940: Full text of over 1,100 American magazines and journals.

Your Librarian

Kristin Nielsen's picture
Kristin Nielsen
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department
knielsen@uga.edu
706-542-0654

Chat with a Librarian