Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film Studies: Keeping Current & Publishing

Keep Current with Journals

 

Browzine is an app that lets you add relevant scholarly journals to a bookshelf and alerts you when new articles or issues are published. See our BrowZine guide for more information.

You can set up search alerts in most of our databases to receive an email when new publications appear based on your search terms. Our guide offers instructions for setting up alerts in Multi-Search and Google Scholar.

Publishing Directories

Use these directories to identify periodicals (scholarly journals and mainstream magazines) and book publishers by their subject or genre focus.

MLA Directory of Periodicals (part of the MLA International Bibliography--click on "Browse Periodicals" at the top of the search screen to get to the directory): Major directory of periodicals in literature, rhetoric, language studies, film, and drama which includes contact information, subject scope, submission requirements, circulation numbers, and often acceptance rates. 

Ulrichsweb: A directory of over 160,000 magazines and journals; use the Advanced Search to limit to scholarly/academic journals. The subject categories are very broad, i.e., "Education" so try a title search if the subject search isn't retrieving what you need. Major titles usually have a yellow star next to them and often link to reviews from Magazines for Libraries or Library Journal.

Literary Market Place (available at Reference Desk): Directory of U.S. trade and university press book publishers with a broad subject index.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Kristin Nielsen
she/her/hers
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department
knielsen@uga.edu
706-542-0654

Chat with a Librarian