Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some Databases of Use to You
Your Art Librarian, Lindsey Reynolds has created a great page for this! Here's the link
Also, consider using MERLOT. Not the wine. This isn't that kind of class. MERLOT is an online resource, to which UGA contributes, of lesson plans and guides for all ages.
The Georgia Department of Education also has online resources along with the State Standards for each grade. See also Teacher Instructional Resources:
- Georgia Fine Arts teachers have thousands of instructional resources available inside the GA Teacher Resource Link (TRL). These resources may be found at the following link and inside your school systems SLDS platform by searching by title inside the Essential toolkit. https://app.gadoe.org/TRLPublic
SAGE Reference Online
also offers some full-text title in your field. Look for this icon
to find the titles that are available to you. The other titles may also be found in the GIL Catalog if we have purchased them.
, provides full-text books and & book chapters, as well as conference proceedings and more. There are over 2000 titles on art available as full-text right now!
Note: If you have created any EBSCO folders, you need to update them as there has been a technical change which currently prevents you from being able to save items in your folders. Please visit this link on the Libraries' Homepage to find the VERY EASY instructions on how to do this.
We have an entire "family" of databases in both the EBSCO and ProQuest collections. You can search more than one database at a time by clicking on "select /choose databases". Here are a few to get you started (EBSCO)
ERIC (combine with Education Research Complete, Educational Administration Abstracts)
Academic Search Complete
APA PsycInfo (aka PsycInfo without APA)
eBook K-8 Collection (EBSCOhost)--Find this in the list of databases within EBSCO
Art & Architecture Source
Humanities International Complete
Listed below are GALILEO Databases tailored to young users
Middle Search Plus
Explora Primary & Explora Secondary (middle & high school)
Databases in the EBSCO "family" can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.
ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.
Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.
- Create an account within the database to save your results and also to be able to send them to a citation manager. You need only create one account for all the EBSCO databases and one for all the ProQuest databases.
- Use quotation marks to keep your phrases as phrases: "autism spectrum"
- Use the asterisk * to expand your search. Type the root of your word~teach~ and add the asterisk~teach* to retrieve teach, teacher, teachers, teaching
- Keep your synonyms in the same box and join by or. These would be terms that are interchangeable in your search. You'll get more hits this way.
- Don't type complete sentences but use just the main concepts.
- Narrow your results to "peer reviewed" to get scholarly materials.
- Use the blue "find it @ UGA" button to see what kinds of access we have for that article. If it's not available electronically, scroll down to find the link "We may own this item in print" and select the GIL Classic link to if we own this item.
- If we don't have it in print nor electronically, call on Interlibrary Loan. They will track down the articles (and books) that we don't have. For free. Articles will come to you as a link in your email to a pdf of the document. Always check to be certain that we don't have print access before submitting your request.