Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the UGA Libraries!
- Contact me first with questions or to set up a research appointment.
- Chat with a librarian online at http://www.libs.uga.edu/chat
- Walk up help at the Art, Main and Science Libraries and on the 3rd floor of the Miller Learning Center (SLC).
Your GIL Account - Log on to GIL to renew books online, check the status of GILExpress requests, and get the off campus password for the article databases. If you can't get in to your account, call Access Services at (706) 542-3256.
UGA Libraries Hours - Art Library / Main and Science Library / Miller Learning Center
Endote / Refworks - Citation management systems to help you manage your records. Create bibliographies in any citation style with the click of a button!
Articles & Databases
Search databases simultaneously, with Multisearch: 90+ databases with links to full text for thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more plus citations to books in the UGA Libraries' - all under one search box. Use the left menu to narrow your results to certain publication dates or by 'Source Types' such as 'Peer Reviewed' or 'Periodicals.'
Multisearch includes results from our local book catalog as well as citations from these art and education-specific databases:
- ERIC is the premier database for education. Covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics. Coverage Dates: 1966-
- Education Research Complete indexes more than 2,200 journals and provides full text for over 1,300. Also contains the full text of selected reference books and conference papers. Coverage Dates: 1865-
- Educational Administration Abstracts indexes professional and peer-reviewed articles and contains more than 66,000 records selected from the most important sources within the field of Education. Coverage Dates: 1966-
- Art & Architecture Source combines content from Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete. This database covers over 630 full-text journals and more than 220 full-text books and includes over 63,000 images as well as art reproduction records. Coverage Dates: 1929-Present
SmartHistory - Interactive website with lectures (conversations between scholars), images, timelines and more from ancient art to contemporary.
PBS Learning Media - Curriculum ideas and videos divided by grade.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. The Timeline extends from prehistory to the present day.
The Frick Collection Photoarchive
The Photoarchive is a study collection of more than one million photographic reproductions of works of art by fourth to mid-twentieth century artists trained in the Western tradition. Each photograph is accompanied by historical documentation that traces the essential elements of the biography of a work of art — changes of attribution, ownership, and condition.
MoMA Exhibition History
The Museum of Modern Art has digitized their entire exhibition history archive, from their founding in 1929 to the present. Includes installation views, checklists, press releases and complete exhibition catalogs.
The WorldCat database is the world's most comprehensive bibliography with bibliographic records representing information spanning 4,000 years of knowledge. Search this database to discover books, archival materials, films, and more from libraries all over the world. Click on the button to link to local holdings. If we do not have the item you need, try borrowing it through Interlibrary Loan.
Digital Image Collections
Documents artistic traditions across many time periods and cultures including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Digital images come from museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. The collection is over 1.9 million images and continues to grow. Artstor supports the needs of faculty, students and researchers in the arts and humanities.
Artstor is the most extensive image resource for educational and scholarly use.
As of Fall 2019, the Dodd's Art History Image Database is housed in Artstor and is available to UGA users only. Any search in Artstory will show UGA users both Artstor and Dodd image results. When you search in artstor any image marked "Institutional" is a part of the Dodd's collection.
You can access artstor through the link above, but to be able to download images you must create a username and password. Note that the URL in the link above is routed through UGA libraries thus giving you access. If you use artstor.org the system will not recognize you and you won't be able to use our institutional account.