Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours Monday, June 23, 2025
Main Library	7:30am – 10:00pm
— Main Help Desk	7:30am – 10:00pm
— Data Studio @ Main	7:30am – 10:00pm
— Interlibrary Loan Office	By appointment 8 to 5: borrow@uga.edu or 706-542-0643

View all Hours

JOUR 3190: Reporting II: Government Information

Dr. Karin Assmann, Fall 2024, Spring 2025

Federal

Federal Agencies
U.S. Senate
U.S. House of Representatives
House Directory
List of House staffers with contact information
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
New York Stock Exchange
Tax Exempt Organizations (IRS)
Federal Election Commission
Political Action Committees @ FEC
FCC (Federal Communications Commission) Organizational Chart
Census Bureau
Foreign Agents Registration Act
Finding lobbyists
Federal Inmate Locator
USA SPENDING
Congressional Research Service
Searchable database with CRS reports
Federation of American Scientists CRS reports
FAS uploads and curated CRS reports.

Federal Register

The Federal Register (the daily journal of the Federal government) is published every business day by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)'s Office of the Federal Register (OFR). Contains: Federal agency regulations, proposed Rules and Notices of interest to the public, executive orders, proclamations and other Presidential documents

International

State Department
State Department Field Offices
State Department Telephone Directory
State Department Archived Sites
State Department directories from previous administrations
State Department Cables (Wikileaks)
Wikileaks searchable database of State Department Cables
CIA Factbook

Europa World

Reference Database with detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide. A great resource for learning about the recent political history of any country, as well as basic statistics and government information.

Georgia

Georgia General Assembly
State Senate
House of Representatives
Legislative Research: Bills and Public Laws: U.S. Bills & Public Laws
Resources for finding and tracking legislative bills and public laws current and historical.
Georgia Government Agencies
Links to all government agencies
Georgia State Documents
Documents published by the State of Georgia from 1876 to date are located in the Georgia Documents collection in the Map and Government Information Library. The Georgia Documents collection encompasses audit reports, budget documents, legislative documents, monographs, newsletters, periodicals and serials from agencies including agriculture, arts, community affairs, courts, education, human resources, industry and trade, labor, legislature, natural resources and recreation. Please see the Complete List of State Agencies and Organizations for further information.
Georgia Campaign Finance System
Secretary of State: Corporations
Georgia Department of Revenue
Tax revenue by county and year
Property Tax Info by County
State Licensing Division

Athens

ACC Government
Agendas
Agendas for upcoming mayor and commission meetings
Athens Code of Ordinances
Clerk of the Court
Case searches (Civil and Criminal). Link to Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority.
Recorded meeting videos
Streaming of live meetings as well as archive of past meetings
Search for a Georgia Business License
Tax Assessor Property Look-up
Property tax database
Search by name of property holder/address for a history of property tax payments

Related Guides

Govt Info: U.S. General
by ‎ ‎‎Humanities & Social Science Team Last Updated Nov 26, 2024 9 views this year
Govt Info, U.S. Congressional
by ‎ ‎‎Humanities & Social Science Team Last Updated Nov 26, 2024 18 views this year
Foreign and International Government Information
by ‎ ‎‎Humanities & Social Science Team Last Updated Nov 26, 2024 10 views this year
Legal Research: Statutes, Regulations, Legal Cases
by ‎ ‎‎Humanities & Social Science Team Last Updated Oct 19, 2024 189 views this year