Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Landscape Architecture / Environment & Design: Site-specific resources

UGA & Athens History and Architecture

Digital Library of Georgia - This resource offers digitized primary and secondary sources like letters, newspapers, photographs, and rare books. Search here for your building to see what is out there (i.e. Stegeman). A few collections that will be of particular use to you are:

Visit the Special Collections Library to discover more and see these items in person. Register as a researcher prior to your visit.

The Map and Government Documents Library is located in the subbasement of the Main Library. View additional Sanborn, campus, and aerial maps there as well as maps of other places around the globe and in the solar system!

Sites outside of Athens

Owens Library, named in honor of the founder of the landscape architecture program at the University of Georgia, Hubert Bond Owens, is open to the public weekdays from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. during the academic year and posted hours during the summer.

In addition to current journals and cataloged books, Owens Library contains various donated collections of materials reflective of CE+D endeavors. These include photographs, plans, drawings, videos, and rare books that are not in circulation. Their collection of plans and reports includes towns from Georgia to as well as locations in other countries.

This collection is supported by the College of Environment and Design, donations, and support from our patrons and is a combination of books, journals, theses and senior projects. There are over 7000 items in the circulating collection. Owens Library works in conjunction with the university’s Main Library in that our books are cataloged within its system: http://www.libs.uga.edu/.