Databases to get you started:
Nexis Uni - Provides full text of case law for most federal and state level courts as well as current and recent federal statutory laws and regulations and many law review journals.
HeinOnline - Includes complete archives of the U.S. Statutes at Large, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court decisions, and many law review journals.
Supreme Court Cases - This subject guide includes links to the most useful resources and sites for researching the Supreme Court.
Search by popular name or keywords if the patron has the popular name of a law / act or only knows what the law is about.
Path: LexisNexis Academic / US Legal / State Statutes... (or Federal Statutes...)
Example (popular name): spencer pass law
Example (topic keywords): emergency vehicles AND reduce speed
- search in everywhere
- select Georgia in the State drop down
Path: LexisNexis Academic / US Legal / Federal Statutes, Codes & Regulations (or State Statutes...)
Example: 21 USC 321 (a statute about food labeling in the United States Code)
- enter 21 and 321 and select the Citation field.
- select Source: Annotated U.S. Code (USCS).
Using AND gets around knowing the correct law code abbreviation used in LexisNexis as well as the section symbol “§”. The string that LexisNexis would otherwise require for an exact citation search in this example is
21 USCS § 321.
by citation in Headings field (only valid for CFR Code of Federal Regulations) to retrieve a list of related regulations. Also useful if you think your citation might be incomplete or inaccurate.
Path: LexisNexis Academic / US Legal / Federal Statutes, Codes & Regulations
Example: 21 CFR 70.25 and other nearby sequential regulations
- enter 21 and 70* and select the Headings field. Note the truncation " * ".
- select Source: CFR Code of Federal Regulations.
older Federal regulations and statutes
LexisNexis Academic provides the full text of federal regulations and statutes from sometime in the 1980s forward. If you find citations to earlier regulations or statutes in, the links provided do not retrieve any text. Use HeinOnline instead: it contains an archive of the Federal Register (FR) where all federal regulations are officially published prior to being encoded in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR); an archive of all annual editions of the CFR; and an archive of the U.S. Statutes at Large (STAT) where public laws are first published prior to being encoded in the United States Code.
Path: HeinOnline / Federal Register Library (or Code of Federal Regulations; or U.S. Statutes at Large)
Example: 42 FR 15636 (a regulation first issued in the Federal Register on Mar. 22, 1977)
- Use the Citation Navigator to retrieve 42 [Fed Reg] 15636
older Georgia statutes
Any citation to a Georgia law in LexisNexis Academic without a live link can usually be tracked down in the Georgia Session Laws. You can search for bills 2001- and session laws through 1999 online. Links are on our subject guide Finding Bills and Public Laws. We also have the Georgia Session Laws in print in our Georgia government publications collection.
History & Authority: Determine the original statute or regulation and any subsequent amendments. Determine the statute in the United States Code that authorizes the publication of a regulation.
Example: retrieve the regulation 21 CFR 70.25
- scroll down to the History paragraph. This provides the citation to the original regulation and any subsequent amendments. This particular regulation has never been amended.
- The Authority paragraph is right below the history. It gives the citation to title and section(s) of the statute in the United States Code which authorizes regulatory bodies to issue this regulation.
Notes: The notes section in a United States Code statute indicates if any regulations are authorized or affected by the provisions of the statute. The notes section in a statute (U.S. and State law codes) may also summarize how a subsequent amendment changed the statute.