Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World War II - Resources at UGA Special Collections: Hargrett Library Resources

Hargrett Library

Home page: www.libs.uga.edu/hargrett

Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM,

Saturday, 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM

Contact: hargrett@uga.edu or 706-542-7123

AboutThe Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library advances the research, instructional, and service mission of the University of Georgia by collecting, preserving, and sharing the published and unpublished works that document the history and culture of Georgia. The Hargrett promotes the state’s literary legacy; and it builds collections of distinction in other areas, including natural history, history of the book, performing arts, women’s history, and University history.

Hargrett Library Collections

There are many collections related to World War II in the Hargrett Library. Please visit the online finding aids database to discover more collections.

The 94th Infantry Division was activated in 1942 during World War II, although it participated in World War I and had soldiers serve during the inter-war period. The Division went overseas to Europe in 1944 and aided in numerous campaigns: Northern France, Rhineland, Ardennes-Alsace, and Central Europe. The Division returned to the States in 1946 and was inactivated the same year. While a part of General Patton's Third United States Army, the 94th Infantry Division earned the nickname, "Patton's Golden Nugget".

The collection consists of books, papers, correspondence, personal narratives, propaganda material, photographs, and artifacts contributed by soldiers and families who have served with or are connected with soldiers who served with the Wolfhounds.The bulk of the collection centers on the 27th Infantry Regiment in World War II  and the Korean War. There are some materials on Siberia and Vietnam and times in between, but the majority focus on the Pacific and Korea.

This collection contains an immense span of World War II correspondence from Henry G. Marshall, mostly to his parents back in Concord, Georgia. He signed his letters "Grady." It follows him throughout the war, beginning with his basic training in Fort Sill, Oklahoma and ending in Bavaria, Germany. Grady gave an extraordinary amount of detail about the war in his writing, much more so than other soldiers in the same period.

The collection consists of correspondence from Myrtle Louise Davis to her family, dated October 1944-December 1946. Also included are various cards and handbooks issued in service, postcards including unusual WAC ones, photos, miscellaneous newspapers from various assignments, insignia, buttons, and personnel records.

Your Library