World War II - Resources at UGA Special Collections: Russell Library Resources

Home Page: www.libs.uga.edu/russell

Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Contact: russlib@uga.edu or 706-542-5788

About: The Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies is a department within the University of Georgia Libraries that reports to the University Librarian and serves as a center for research and study of the modern American political system. Established in 1974 through the efforts of the Richard B. Russell Foundation, Inc., the Georgia General Assembly, and the University System of Georgia Board of Regents, the Library’s original mission was to collect and preserve materials that document the life and career of the late Richard B. Russell, United States Senator from Georgia from 1933 to 1971. With particular emphasis on the role of Georgia and the U. S. Congress, current collection development and programming focus on the dynamic relationship of politics, policy, and culture—generated wherever public interest intersects with government. The breadth and depth of Russell Library’s collections provide an interconnected framework of perspectives and experiences for understanding the increasingly diverse people, events, and ideas shaping Georgia’s political landscape.

There are many collections related to World War II in the Russell Library. Please visit the online finding aids database to discovery more collections.

• Henry Tift Myers, Sr. Papers

The Henry Tift Myers, Sr. Papers document both his personal and professional life from 1931 to 1968 (bulk 1943-1947), with an emphasis on his service as the first Presidential pilot during World War II. The collection consists of correspondence, flight logs, printed material, ephemera, clippings, notes, photographs, drawings, and maps.

• Richard B. Russell, Jr. Collection, Subgroup C, Series XVI: International

The Richard B. Russell, Jr. Collection, Subgroup C, Series XVI: International consists of correspondence and printed material relating to international regions, countries, cities, topics, and incidents. It is subdivided into general correspondence and subject files.

• Richard B. Russell, Jr. Collection, Subgroup E, Series III: Scrapbooks

The Richard B. Russell, Jr. Collection, Subgroup E, Series III: Scrapbooks contains scrapbooks chronicaling Senator Russell's overseas inspections made during World War II.

• Stovall and McKay Family Papers

George Woodliff and Martha McKay Stovall had extensive correspondence while George served in the Air Corps during World War II. George collected both U.S. and Nazi artifacts in addition to photographs and postcards while overseas.