UGA Business Research Portal

Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance from a network of 1,000 faculty members at Oxford, other leading universities, and think-tanks; Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.

Hoover's Online - Business Subscription provides extensive profiles for thousands of major public and private companies worldwide. Profiles include:
Company background
Historical sketch
Comparison with competitors
Financial data and reports

Data Axle provides directory information on over 14 million US businesses, public and private. Typical data provided are:

LSEG Workspace (formerly Refinitiv Workspace) contains financial data, news, and other information about publicly-held, stockholder-owned companies, both U.S. and foreign, generally 1992/1993-present. U.S. company reports include the Annual Report to Shareholders (ARS), 10-K, 10-Q, 8-K, Proxy, and Registration Statements/Prospectuses. It also contains Datastream. YOU MUST REGISTER FOR AN ACCOUNT WITH YOUR UGA ADDRESS BEFORE YOU CAN ACCESS EITHER WORKSPACE OR DATASTREAM

Mergent Market Atlas offers a wealth of detail on company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. Powerful and intuitive search capabilities combined with an easy to learn and use interface provide quick access to a multitude of company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views and reports.

PrivCo provides key financial data, number of employees, company contacts, whether family-owned or private equity backed, M&A history, and competitor lists for private U.S. companies. Amount of data available varies by company. Registration with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database

A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more. The Global Consumer Survey includes data sets for different countries, topics, and target groups.

The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for the many important scholarly business journals as far back as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Conference Board Online contains full-text research reports on business management functions and economics, as well as periodicals, produced by the Conference Board, a global non-profit business research organization.

Reports on management functions cover such topics as business ethics, accounting, executive compensation, governance, employee benefits, and productivity, to name just a few. Also included in the database are periodic reports on the current status and forecasts for the economies of the U.S, other major countries, and world regions; as well as news releases on U.S. economic indicators. (More extensive, historical data on the U.S. economy are contained in the Conference Board's Business Cycle Indicators database, also on GALILEO.)

JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.

ProQuest Central provides a single search for 30 ProQuest databases. These databases are not included in Multi-Search. Coverage is international and almost all subjects are included with particular strengths in business, medicine, and newspapers.

Ethnic NewsWatch provides a full-text collection of newspaper, magazine and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press. A broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints is provided through an extensive collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, and news reports.

Factiva combines Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications:

Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

The Athletic has every major league covered with award-winning talent, spanning the NFL, NBA, WNBA, NHL, MLB, MLS, NWSL, PGA, NCAA Football, NCAA Basketball (Men’s & Women’s), EPL, Champions League, International Football and much more.

View the LibGuide for detailed instructions on how to register: https://guides.libs.uga.edu/TheAthletic

This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times dating back to its first issue in 1851. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF files. More recent articles from the New York Times can be found in Global Newsstream.

This database contains full-text and full-image articles, ads, and stock quotes from the Wall Street Journal dating back to 1889. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF files. The Factiva database has the full text of articles 1979-present.

This database provides a digital version of the Wall Street Journal formerly available in microfilm. Unlike microfilm, which was limited to one reader at a time, using special equipment within the library, the digital version may be viewed from any location by an unlimited number of simultaneous users. The newspaper appears in its original and uncut format, complete with photos, charts, graphs, editorials, and other visual material in addition to text. As with physical microfilm, users may specify the date and page they wish to view, but the text is not searchable. Coverage begins with 2008 and is updated monthly.