Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 1101: English Composition I (Phillips): Home

Professor Brianna Phillips, Fall 2021

Funny You Should Ask: Research Paper Resources

"I did stand-up comedy for 18 years. Ten of those years were spent learning, four years were spent refining, and four years were spent in wild success. I was seeking comic originality, and fame fell on me as a byproduct. The course was more plodding than heroic." Steve Martin.

Welcome!

This guide will introduce you to resources to help you research comedy. If you have questions or need research help, please just ASK! You can either contact me or the general Reference Desk.

Only Murders in the Building

Only Murders in the Building' Recap: Episode 1 Premiere on Hulu | TVLine

Only Murders in the Building (2021). Hulu.

Articles on Literature

Multi-SearchA combined search of GIL and about 100 GALILEO databases including ones for articles in literature, history, film, art, music, and more. Search tips:
--Put phrases and titles in quotation marks: "friends"
--Not finding enough on a specific text? Go to 'Advanced Search' and choose "Also search within the full text of the articles." 
--Getting too many irrelevant results from Multi-Search? Try searching one of the more focused databases separately:

Literary criticism: MLA International Bibliography includes scholarly articles and book chapters in literary criticism and language studies.

Drama:  International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance includes scholarly articles and some book chapters in the performing arts.

JSTOR is a collection of full-text scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage begins with the journal's first issue, and JSTOR's "rolling wall" means the past 3-5 years are often not available.

Project Muse is another database with full-text scholarly journals.

Articles on Television

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Articles and reviews of films and television programs.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

Historical collection of film and television industry magazines.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Find popular and scholarly articles on communication and mass media studies, including some full text.

Additional LibGuides

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Sheila Devaney
she/her/hers
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library

Online Office Hours
By appointment:
sdevaney@uga.edu
706-542-8708
Website