Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 3072 (special collections): PRIMARY SOURCES: Digitized Newspapers--Georgia and National

Overview

An important aspect to your paper will be to explore how your topic/issue unfolded in the newspapers--the main media outlet during the time period  for the class focus. Start with the Atlanta Constitution Historical Database and explore the years of interest or most relevant to your topic.  You will likely need to try a variety of keywords to get to articles most relevant to your topic--try names of people involved--for example the name of the governor in office at the time. If your topic occurs before 1923, please explore the other Digitized Georgia Newspapers  below. If you want to explore how your issue or topic was discussed  nationally, take a look at the New York Times and the Washington Post databases below. 

Digitized newspapers that cover 1875-1945

 
Full text of the Atlanta Constitution, 1868-1984.
 
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the Atlanta Constitution dating back to 1868. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF files. Coverage ends in 1984; more recent articles from the Atlanta Journal and Constitution can be found in LexisNexis Academic (selective content, 1991-).
 
 
Full text of the New York Times, 1851-2014
 
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times dating back to its first issue in 1851. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF files. More recent articles from the New York Times can be found in the Factiva and LexisNexis Academic databases.
 
 
Full text of the Washington Post 1877-2002.
 
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the Washington Post dating back to 1877. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF files
 
 

Digitized Georgia Newspapers covering 1875-1923

The Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia (DLG), a part of Georgia’s Virtual Library GALILEO and is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use and includes over one million Georgia newspaper pages between 1786 and 1986. Most of the digitized newspapers end coverage in 1923, but some cover more recent periods.

Access Georgia Historic Newspapers

 

More information about accessing newspapers

Thousands of newspapers are available full-text online through UGA Libraries subscription databases, with both current and historical coverage.

To learn more visit Newspapers at the UGA Libraries: How To